Posted by: springsinthedesert | July 9, 2010

Restore & Repay

Instead of bronze I will bring gold, instead of iron I will bring silver; instead of wood, bronze, instead of stones, iron.

             Isaiah 60:17

For past couple of weeks, God had been speaking to me two important words..Restore and Repay. He showed me several verses from the Bible which explains these two words and at the same time gave me real examples from my life to make me understand what He truly mean by them.

I’m not able to get these words off my mind and I feel that someone out there needs to hear about them and so I trust the Holy Spirit to write through me what exactly He wants to convey.Let us discuss each word separately.

RESTORE

I’m a huge HGTV fan and I watch a lot of interior decorating shows…They have shows which concentrate specifically on restoring old buildings. Some of the buildings are real old with great architectural beauty and charm. When they try to restore such old mansions, they try to keep the beauty and integrity of that old era and remodel or restore them in such a way that they won’t lose its former glory and style. Restoration means to rebuild something to replicate the former state..or to recreate its former condition and style. For example, an old colonial style mansion will not be restored to a contemporary modern house…but it will be rebuilt in such a way that its colonial style will be restored, yet updated to fit the modern needs.

Restoration always include building up. Rebuilding something which is in ruins…to match it with its former glory.That is the power of restoration. A child of God goes through many stages of restoration…..and God does it through the WORD of GOD. People, when going through many valley like experiences, can lose their former glory…can decline a little bit in their faith. And the word of God can restore us to our former spiritual life. Sometimes, un-confessed sins make us separated from God and make us in a state of ruins…but the Holy Spirit through the WORD can speak to our hearts and restore or rebuild us to the former and better relationship with Jesus.

Peter was in the state of ruins after betraying Jesus…But when Jesus restored him and rebuilt him to his former glory, he became the greatest leader Christianity had ever seen. Restoration has an important part in a believer’s life. There is no opportunity for growth if one is not ready for restoration.

REPAY

My husband used to work in a maintenance support team of an IT project two years back and he was on call 24/7. He used to work late night in some of the days. And every now and then he used to get compensatory days off. The company tries to repay the employee in one way or another…some may return it as compensatory days off, some as overtime pay cheque, some others as bonus. Whatever be the mode of repayment, it is one way of returning what one has lost or offered in service.

Bible says that God will repay us for what we have lost. Isaiah 60:17 says “Instead of bronze I will bring gold, instead of iron I will bring silver; instead of wood, bronze, instead of stones, iron.” He did not say that instead of bronze, He will give bronze or something lesser in value…Instead, He said, for bronze, He will give gold…Or in other words, when God tries to repay you for what you have lost or offered…He will give you something greater in value. And that is the Heaven’s standard.

Job is a good example to understand God’s standard in repaying..We see in Job 42, that God repaid him everything he has lost in double..

Today, whatever may be your condition, God is preparing you for a restoration and there is a repayment waiting for you in the future.Your pain and suffering is God’s way of restoring or rebuilding you to its former glory for which God has called you. And for all these years lost, all the great opportunities you have sacrificed…and for everything that you have offered God..He is going to repay you…not with something you are familiar with..but with something completely new…something of greater value.. Do you believe it?

God Bless,

Rani John


Responses

  1. Thank you Rani, for so faithfully listening and obeying Him, bringing us just what we need to hear. Praying for that restoration and repayment in your life and every life that is waiting, that is in need. . .for me too. God bless you and love on you today! deb

  2. Today’s devotion is a great assurance and it reminds me of Joel 2:25, “I will repay you for the years the locusts have eaten……..” This devotion also dampen my eyes when I think of a lot of real people out there working long extra hours for which they are never paid for. Reasons for this type of exploitation may vary due to unemployment in their countries, recession, delays in visas, work permits and whatsoever. These are all opportunities for the ‘bosses’ in command. These people have no voice and no other choice, other than to work as ‘modern slaves’ as they spent hours deprived of rest and sleep working for their companies and bosses. With humble heart I remember the less privileged in different nations who labour long hours to receive daily wages less worth than a cup of tea and have no power to react to this type of oppression.

    I wish all out there could read today’s devotion, Rani, and come to this God who will restore and repay. When Israelites in Egypt groaned in their slavery and cried out, their cry for help went up to God. I too am waiting upon God for my ‘gold and silver’. Together let us say, Rani, “For in this day of trouble He keeps us safe in His dwelling and hides us and set us high upon a rock. Our head will be exalted above the enemies and soon we will sacrifice with shouts of joy and sing and make music to the LORD”.
    Susan

  3. This devotion is wonderful and it really encouraged me! I have been hearing the Holy Ghost whisper to me ‘I will give you double…’ and I feel this devotion is a confirmation as to what he was telling me.
    God bless You Rani!

    Desiree

  4. Rani,

    Thank you for this word. It is for me, and I believe it. Just this morning, I was praying about restoration. And I have been praying Isaiah 60 almost every day for a while now; each time I get to that verse, just as you have described, I pause, and pray it out that God will bring me more and of greater value than I had before, in the place of the things I’ve lost in my walk with him, my faith in him. Indeed, it is Heaven’s standard. I am seeing this now in my life. Nothing now is as it was before, even when I am afraid I an merely repeating the past. God always does better, and he will continue this way. The Lord continues to do a new and better thing each and every time, because he has promised. He is such a merciful and just God.

    I am looking forward to your testimonies Rani, because it is only a matter of time. When God pours out, he will pour out on you indeed. What an awesome God!

    (And thank you *dearly* for your email–I will respond to you, as I am able too.)


Leave a comment

Categories