Posted by: springsinthedesert | April 26, 2012

Enjoy Your Place In Him

The other day, I was flipping through my Bible and a heading caught my attention which said, ‘Moses and the glory of the Lord’. I read it further and few words struck me real hard which made me think for days. I don’t think those words have much of a significant meaning in that verse other than its literal sense. But Holy Spirit revealed few thoughts to me which I would like to share with you all.

Exodus 33 verse 21-23 read like this..”“There is a place by me where you may stand on a rock. When my glory passes by, I will put you in a cleft in the rock and cover you with my hand until I have passed by. Then I will remove my hand and you will see my back; but my face must not be seen.” What does it mean when God says ‘there is a place by me’?

Let us understand the context a little better. In the beginning of this chapter, we read God asking Moses to leave that place with his people to the promised land. Till then God’s presence accompanied them in the day as a cloud and in the night as a pillar of fire. But the people sinned against Him through murmurings. Though God was merciful enough to these people, they sinned against Him this time with an idol worship which God detest the most. This time, God decided to just send an angel to accompany them to the promised land instead of His very presence. Moses could not accept that idea of not having God’s presence in this journey. He was not satisfied with anything lesser than God. And so from verses 12 to 23, we read a beautiful conversation of Moses and God.

When God said there is a place by me and hide in the cliff of that rock; rather than the proximity of the place, do you think He meant the intimacy of that relationship?As long as you remain in that place near Him, hiding in the cliff of that rock(standing firm on the rock..Jesus Christ), God promises to provide His companionship.

In this place near Him, He promises to provide His presence.(Exodus 33:14) No matter where you are; in valleys, or mountain tops….in the middle of the waters or in fire…His continual presence is the promise of this wonderful relationship that you share with Him.

You are going to experience His special favor when you constantly remain in this place by Him.(Exodus 33:17) His favor keeps you special all through your life. With His favor by your side, you will see doors opened, new opportunities revealed, battles won and heights reached. Not because of what you are…but because of whom you have. This special favor makes you different from all the others…and distinguish you as a child of God.

When I read that verse 18, where Moses asked God to show His glory; I was amazed. Does Moses have any idea what he is asking the Almighty God? Something that nobody  has ever asked..What made him think that his desire will be answered? I believe that its is the confidence of his relationship with the LORD. When you have confidence in a relationship that you share with someone…you are not afraid or hesitant to share your heart. And God is saying, in this place by Him, HE is more than ready to answer all your inmost desires….the desire to know Him better…the desire to know His heart…to see His glory.(Exodus 33:17)

When you remain in this place by Him, God is promising to protect you from all the harm that can come against you.(Exodus 33:22) He is promising you to cover you with His hands so that you will not see the things that is not in His will for you. He is promising you a safe and secure place in HIM..a refuge..a strong tower in times of adversities and always…A place to run to when you think that no one else understands.

Today, are you in that place near Him? Do you share that wonderful relationship with Him? Do you understand how important you are to Him? Enjoy your place in HIM.

God Bless,

Rani John

Responses

  1. So very precious a word, Rani! Thank you for encouraging us in Him! love and prayers!

  2. Rani,

    I now understand more than ever that place with Him. God has been faith in the journey. We will catch up with time. Hope you have been well along with your family. Love and blessings.

    Gladwell


Leave a Reply

Categories

