Posted by: springsinthedesert | February 2, 2012

Let Go And Let God

For past few weeks, my family was sick on and off. First it was the kids, then we parents…then again it was their turn..now its back again on us. I think its the season. I request you to uphold us in your valuable prayers.

Couple of days back, in our family prayer, we read Psalm 61 and one verse from that Psalm kept coming to me every now and then. One day, while rocking my daughter to sleep, the contents of today’s devotion was given to me at an instance…but I ask forgiveness to the Lord for not writing it until now.

Verse 2 reads as follows, “From the end of the earth will I cry unto thee, when my heart is overwhelmed: lead me to the rock that is higher than I.”  If you examine the context of this Psalm, we’ll understand that David was greatly overwhelmed and troubled while writing this. His son Absalom was influenced by some people who convinced him that he would be a better king than his father. And because of that there was a great revenge raging inside his heart against his father David. Absalom rebelled against his father and his kingdom and tried to kill him. In such difficult times, David would run to Mount Zion, worship His lord and cry unto Him. At the time of this Psalm, the answer was not received…It was more than he could ever take..The rebellion was from his own..but he was sure that its not something that God cannot handle. He was confident enough to cry out…Lead me to the rock that is higher than I.

This rock is our refuge, our ever present help in trouble. One thing that amazed me was that, David had the confidence that this rock is higher than him. Most of the time, we fail to see God because we consider ourselves much higher than Him. Knowingly or unknowingly we assume that our problems are much larger than God himself and thereby fail to accept His providence to resolve that issue. When you and me see the presence of this rock that is higher than us…then we run to find shelter in Him. Till then, we run to all the other sources and come back to our problem that seems larger and higher than before. When David says..Lead me to the rock that is higher than I..let us see in what all areas He considers God to be higher than himself.

Lead me to the Rock that is higher than our understanding

Proverbs 3:5 says , “Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding”. Have you noticed that when you lean more on your understanding…then your trust in God is reduced? I have heard people saying..God has given us wisdom to use and we should be using it. Yes thats true to an extent. But in my life, what I have realized is that..the more you try to apply your wisdom…the more you are away from trusting God. We have a limited understanding about a particular situation…But we serve a God who sees beyond our tomorrows..then why not trust in Him whose understanding and wisdom is  much greater than ours.

Lead me to the Rock that is higher than our thoughts

Isaiah 55:8 says , "For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways," declares the LORD. How often do we acknowledge that His ways and thoughts for us are way higher than we can imagine? We try to limit God by having limited thoughts. We think that God can work only in a specific way and thats the best way possible for us. We do not have to give the Almighty any ideas..He knows what He is doing..you just have to trust Him.

Lead me to the Rock that is higher than my current situations

David, being the King could have resolved his problem in many ways. When the tempest is from within, its hard to withstand the storm. David instead of plotting plans to kill his son, ran to a place of safety. There is no one or no better place than can offer this special security that you so badly need in life.  David knew that his current situation is not at all easy….but he also knew that its not at all difficult for Him who is with him.

Lead me to the Rock that is higher than my future

Most of the time, we are overwhelmed in our current situations and worry a lot about our future. Here we see, David was not sure about his tomorrows. He did not know whether his end would be through his son. While worshipping Lord and crying unto God…he did not know anything about his next moment..Yet He worshipped this Lord who is greater than his tomorrows. There is a verse in Habakkuk 3 which always strengthens me..Though the fig tree may not blossom,Nor fruit be on the vines;Though the labor of the olive may fail,And the fields yield no food;Though the flock may be cut off from the fold,And there be no herd in the stalls— Yet I will rejoice in the Lord,I will joy in the God of my salvation. No matter what happens…I will worship and praise my God who is my salvation…

Today, if you are going through a storm that you think is going to drown you…go to the Rock that is higher than you…higher than you in all possible ways.

God Bless,

Rani John

 

 

Responses

  1. may he kip us till d end!.

  2. The Lord is your Peace and that of your family.
    God be with you and strengthen you always in Jesus name.
    May God help us to run to and absolutely trust in Him always.Temidire


Leave a Reply

Categories

