Posted by: springsinthedesert | August 24, 2011

Let Your Focus Be God’s Kingdom

So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.

                        Mathew 6:31-33

“Seek ye first the Kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added unto you” I believe that all of us know this verse by heart. While reading the above verse the other day, I was intrigued by the word ‘seek’. What is the actual meaning of seek? Seeking for something involves an effort from our side. When I read that verse again and again, I realized that the word seek gives us the impression of a continuous trying from one’s side to understand a truth or reach a goal.

The above key verse specifically says that we need not run after the things that we need. Instead they will come in search of us, if we seek the Kingdom of God first. What does that mean to seek His kingdom first? To pray and meditate early in the morning before we start our day? No..it means to put God and His will, the first and important priority of our life.

I strongly believe that we do not have to try hard to receive opened doors and great opportunities. They will find us and knock at our door, if we are humble and diligent in seeking God’s will in our lives. For past few days, I have been worrying a lot just like the pagans…trying hard to reach a goal, struggling myself too much in specific areas of life where I do not have any control of. All I needed was a solution..and every moment of my life, I strenuously tried hard and troubled myself seeking that solution. Though I knew very well that my answer is only with Jesus, I tried everything to make it happen..The result..Still back to the same point where I started, with more worries added to it. I wish, I had taken that same effort to seek His word and His will in that particular matter. He would have comforted me and provided me with the needed solution. Yet foolishly, I struggled until I reached at the foot of that cross and laid my burden down.

What I learned from this whole situation is that, worrying takes our attention off from the cross. Whatever be our need, whether materialistic, physical, emotional or spiritual, it is better to seek Him first and know about His will instead of solving that problem by ourselves.

Today, what are you trying hard for? A job? A career? A family life? A child? A healing? Are you struggling more that you should? Are you anxious and worried about it so much that you cannot take that matter out of your mind? Let me tell you, check whether you have moved very far from the cross..because worrying too much will only take us away from Him and seeking God and His righteousness will always make us one step closer to the cross. Psalm 23 verse 6 says that

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
         All the days of my life;
         And I will dwell in the house of the LORD 
         Forever.

We just have to dwell in the house of the LORD…and need not run after goodness and mercy..They will follow us to where we are. So let us be not like the pagans…Let us seek His Kingdom and His righteousness and the rest is a package added to it…you just have to receive it.

(This is a post that I have written one year back…When just browsing through some of my old posts, I felt the urge to repost this particular one…Some of the things that I have written months back…spoke to me today…hit really hard at certain areas…Hope this will be a blessing to you too.)

God Bless,

Rani John

Responses

  1. I shared your post with my bloggers today! It is really good!

  2. Rani, what you share is always a blessing to me! You’ve helped me see about that seeking Him and letting Him be my everything. Whatever else comes along is then a bonus. 🙂
    God bless you and your precious family! Thank you for thinking of us and posting whatever He asks you to!


Leave a Reply

Categories

