Posted by: springsinthedesert | July 14, 2011

Are You Sleeping???

Before writing down the devotions, all these meditations first speaks to me and this particular one hit me really hard. God had given me several thoughts from the Bible which I have been postponing to write due to many reasons. With the five year old and the baby at home, I hardly get time…Thats not true..I get time for everything else..but by the time I sit down to write…mostly late in the night..I’m really tired and go to sleep with my laptop still open.

While I was reading Mark 14, God showed me an incident from the Bible which I can really relate with. Jesus is about to be crucified and as usual He is going to the garden of Gethsemane with his disciples. Jesus took Peter, James and John with Him while the rest were asked to sit down and pray. He went a little further and shared His heart with them and asked them to watch and pray. Jesus was overwhelmed with sorrow and was heavy hearted thinking about the crucifixion. After sharing His heart with His Father, He came back and saw the disciples sleeping. He asked Simon; “Are you asleep?Couldn’t you keep watch for one hour? Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.”

Dear child of God, Are you asleep when our Master is burdened about the perishing souls? Are we asleep when our savior is thinking about the eternity of the lost souls? Many a times, our flesh is weak, though the spirit is willing. Our priorities are often the matters of the flesh; family, work , our tomorrows, our future…while our spiritual responsibilities lay asleep. I’m not saying that we should ignore our other responsibilities, but our priority should be the matters of God’s Kingdom. What troubles Jesus should definitely bother us too.

God expects us to do certain things at a specific time of our life. He might ask us to pray for someone at midnight. That particular person might be in need and if we tarry or neglect that nudge of the Holy Spirit, we fail to do what we are asked to do and lose our purpose.  If at all Peter knew the heart of God….There was a particular time that Jesus expected them to pray and when he saw them sleeping even after admonishing them three times, He said..”Enough”.

Holy Spirit will not continue to speak to us every time we fail to obey His voice. There might be four or five chances in our lives…and then there is a time when God says “Enough” and move on to the next step. Next time, when He asks us to do something, let us be willing…and know the heart of God.

Prayers,

Rani John

Responses

  1. Ah Rani . . .He told me this too! A few years back, I was wanting something to do , to be good at. And He asked me what about being good at bringing the lost and hurting to Him. That’s what He wanted me to be good at . . .did I?
    God bless you for listening to Him with a willing heart!
    love, deb

  2. I hear the same question! I know we are to leave LOVE, His Love on the earth, in others!


Leave a Reply

Categories

