Posted by: springsinthedesert | July 12, 2011

The Warmth Of His Love

You hem me in—behind and before; you have laid your hand upon me.Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,  too lofty for me to attain.

               Psalms 139:5,6

For today’s devotion, I would like to take your attention to Psalm 139. This particular key verse mentioned above started speaking to me.  I searched all different versions of the same scripture. All of them have used different words to describe the verse…’hem me in’, ‘hedged me’ and ‘closed me in’…What do they mean? It means that God has encircled us or covered us within His arms. Meditating that verse again made me feel like receiving a warm big hug from God. As though He has engulfed me in His loving arms.

When we receive a hug from someone we love, what is the actual feeling that we get? We feel the warmth and love of the other person. We sense the compassion and mercy of the giver. We find peace and security in that person who extends his arms around us. Have you ever received that warm hug from God?

When you are hemmed within His mighty arms, there is nothing or nobody in this world that can take you away from that embrace. Great storms of life cannot move you away from His loving arms. He is your strong tower and city of refuge. When you are so close to Him, you can understand the heartbeat of God and His love for you. In my imagination, I can see His one hand in between me and my past and the other hand between me and my future. I need not worry about the hurts of my past and be anxious about the uncertainties of my future. All I see and feel is the mighty hand of God…the hand that has done miracles in my life…the hand that has brought great deliverances, the hand that has wiped my tears, the hand that has picked me up, the hand that has been nailed on the cross for me. And nothing in this world…..no relationships, no circumstances can snatch me from His hand.

God has searched you and me…He knows our anxious thoughts. HE is not a God who just answers our prayers and leave us alone with them. He shows His compassion towards us…He expresses His love through words..He has engraved us in His palms and made us the apple of His eye. Do you feel the love of God today? You might be deserted and unloved, not taken care of and rejected…but there is a God who loves you just the way you are. The hurts from your past might have bruised you terribly and the uncertainties of future might have made you confused and worried…God says, “You are hedged in within my Mighty arms…and you are safe with me..I am your strong refuge and your deliverer. Find rest in me.”

God Bless,

Rani John

Responses

  1. Oh so beautiful, Rani, and a must to re-read again and again! Thank you for making yourself available to Him and to us as you continue to post!
    love, deb


Leave a Reply

Categories

