Posted by: springsinthedesert | March 16, 2011

You Are His Priceless Treasure

" ‘On that day,’ declares the LORD Almighty, ‘I will take you, my servant Zerubbabel son of Shealtiel,’ declares the LORD, ‘and I will make you like my signet ring, for I have chosen you,’ declares the LORD Almighty."

      Haggai 2:23

In my late teens, I had a dream in which I saw a ring falling from heaven. It was like small un-identifiable object in the beginning, but as it came closer to me within a hands reach, I realized that it was a beautiful ring with a stone on it. I could not see the person who gave it, but sensed in my spirit that it was from heaven and my whole body, mind, and soul belonged to HIM who gave it. This was a new experience for me and so I ran to my mother to ask about its meaning and she told me that the ring symbolizes someone’s ownership or in other words a covenant for an everlasting relationship.

Yesterday was a tough day for me…and I knew that God’s comforting voice alone will make me at ease. I kept asking God to give me a verse which I can hold onto in this day and He gave me this verse which I think I’ll hold onto the rest of my life…He said, “…and I will make you like my signet ring, for I have chosen you,’ declares the LORD Almighty."(Haggai 2:23)

Now, what does this signet ring means? Let us look at different usages of the ring and see its spiritual significance. Rings are used in marriages from ancient times. When the couple exchange rings, it means that they are entering into a covenantal relationship that lasts a lifetime. Giving a ring to someone means that “I have chosen you from many to be my own”. It also silently conveys the truth that, “Everything that I possess belongs to you” .

The origin of signet rings were supposed to be from European countries. They used it to represent people’s noble status. Egyptians used them as a part of their history to represent authority. Romans used them to represent their social status. Gold signet rings were used by civil or military people while iron signet rings by common people.

Looking through the Bible, we see different Kings using the signet ring to show their power and authority. In the book of Daniel, we read that the King used his signet ring to seal the mouth of the lion’s den so that Daniel’s situation might not be changed.(Daniel 6:16-18). In the book of Esther, we see the King giving his signet ring to Esther so that she could sign the decree which was written in favorable for the Jews.(Esther 8:8). From these references, we understand that no document written in the king’s name and sealed with his ring can be revoked. Nothing else can symbolize the power and authority of a King, better than the signet ring.

God has chosen you and me to be His very own…to be His priceless possession. To be His signet ring means we are under a covenant with Him..an everlasting relationship that extends to eternity. Do you hear Him telling you, “Everything that I possess belongs to you…Its like a package…When you have me…you have everything”. When God says that you are His signet ring, it means that He has given you the power and authority of the King of Kings…and whatever you claim in His name is given to you and nothing can prevent you from receiving it. You are given the power to break the yokes of the devil, you are given the authority to claim victory, you are given the rights to change the decrees written against you..because you represent the King of Kings.

Do you realize your noble status? You are not an ordinary person..You belong to a royal family. We were not worthy to be called His own, yet He chose us to be one. So let us consider ourselves ,honored and privileged to be called His own and use the power and authority of our Father, the King of Kings.

God Bless,

Rani John

Responses

  1. God bless you, highly honored and beloved Rani, royalty of our King! And thank you for encouraging us and lifting us up today! love you and am praying for you! deb

  2. Hi Rani, I haven’t been by to read in a while, but I’ve been thinking of you. I just gave you a Versatile Blogger Award. Stop by to pick up your award. Peace, Linda

  3. The lord himself led me to this site, I was asking the meaning to the dream god gave me, and now i have found my answer, god also gave me a gold rng with a stone in it wich also came from heaven. Thanx for posting this. god bless and do mighty things with you.

  4. Rani, thankyou very much for your inspiring message..its WOW!!!. Just this week my friend Marlene Theresa Meth-Castle introduced me to the ‘Jesus Calls’ christian wallpapers, n while going through them I saw one with a beautiful ring with a deep blue stone n 1 smaller diamond on either side set in white gold with Haggai 2v23 written with it. I immediately fell in love with the ring because my Darling n I are looking for a similar ring for our engagement 31st December 2011. When I read the Scripture Holy Spirit sowed a seed in my spirit as to the meaning of a signet ring n when googling the meaning of a signet ring I came upon your message. It makes absolute sense to me and I identify with it. Thankyou, someone not long ago said that I am gold, having been purified by fire but now I know I am much more..I am God’s priceless treasure. God bless you abundantly, love Marie-Louise

  5. Thank you for this message Rani. I was looking for a word from God today because I desperately need direction from God for my life. I opened the bible not knowing what to read or where to look and when I opened the bible, this scripture in Haggai 2:23 just stood out literally. I read it and wanted to know what it means and so I looked it up on the internet. God bless you.

  6. A few weeks ago, the Lord prepared me 3 days prior for a major change on my job with Haggai 2 with the verse “Fear not, for behold I am with you” and “your latter shall be greater than the before”. I did not understand what was about to happen to me. Three days later, there was a major shift in my workplace and in the natural I felt it was a set up to get me fired, but I kept repeating the scripture and believing that God is with me. I was uneasy with the way the change was packaged, but I rested that God sees the whole picture and I got comfort from the Holy Spirit that everything will work out for my good. A week after the change, I began to see wheels of change manifesting for my good. What a faithful God! Today, I shared the event with a co-worker and shortly afterwards, I went back to read Haggai 2 again. This time verse 23 popped and caused my heart to flutter with a joyful feeling that God just spoke to me again with verse 23. I went to research what signet means and I found your website and its such a joy to find like-minded believers who agree that the Lord speaks through scriptures to let His Beloved knows that He is watching and cares for us. I am so awed by the awesome power of the Holy Spirit’s guidance. Let continue to lift up the name of Lord.

  7. Hi, great message and good work on the blog, can a simple ring attached on a chain be signet ring? God bless

  8. On a couple of occasions recently, I heard God speak to me and say that he would wear me like a signet ring. Although it seemed very nice I didn’t totally understand. In an effort to understand better, I went to look up signet ring on the internet and came across your blog. God definitely spoke to me through it. Thank you for allowing God to speak through you to His people.

  9. Wow! Wow! Wow! Thank you for writing this article about the signet ring. 2 days ago, i had a great dream about carrying gold necklace, and wearing a big beautiful custom design diamond wedding ring on Mother’s Day. At first, i thought it was just an expression of Jesus telling me He loves me and I am His beloved. But today Holy Spirit opened my eyes to look deeper into the dream significance of the ring and gold necklace. And i found your article a perfect fitting for it. God bless you and may He establishes the hands of your work for you and bless your work to bring insights to His people in Jesus Name, Amen!

  10. hi rani
    past 13 yerars I ve been seraching for the meaning of the verse ” I will make you as a signet ring ,for I have chosen you” ..This is the promise given to me long back when i fasted for 40 days..I am extremely happy after going through your explanation..thank you very much ..God bless..
    sunitha paul


Leave a Reply

Categories

