Posted by: springsinthedesert | February 28, 2011

Take Someone To Jesus

He said to them, "Go into all the world and preach the good news to all creation.

           Mark 16:15

Before going into today’s devotion, I would like to tell you an incident from William Carey’s life to affirm my topic for today. William Carey,  was a missionary from England who went to India. He was a shoemaker by trade and when God called him, he decided to go to India to preach the Gospel. When he accepted Jesus as his personal savior, he had made a decision to share the Gospel with at least one person in a day. By the end of one day, he would have shared the Good News to a person. One day, he could not find that particular person which God wanted him to share the Gospel…It was already late and he was really upset that he could not make his commitment for that day. While he was sitting sad, he saw a man dressed in rags coming towards him..He looked very filthy and sick. He felt the urge to speak to that man and he used that opportunity to share about Jesus. Immediately after hearing the good news and accepting Christ, that man fell on the ground and died. William Carey’s commitment and dedication towards the decision he took was so rewarding through that one man itself…through one man’s dedication, he got a chance to know Jesus before he left this earth.

How is our commitment towards God? will we take the decision to share the Gospel to at least one person a day? How about taking the decision to pray for one person in a day? Can we do that? In the book of John, first chapter, we read that Andrew was the first person who followed Jesus. The first thing he did was to go tell Simon Peter about Jesus. Not only that he told him about the master, he made sure that he brought Simon to Jesus. Seeing Simon, Jesus told him that he will be called Cephas. God definitely had plans about Peter…but what if Andrew failed to tell him about Jesus.Now you might tell me that if God had plans about Peter, he would definitely come to Jesus through some other way if not through Andrew….And I agree. But I believe that bringing Simon to Jesus was Andrew’s purpose in life and if he missed that chance, he missed the opportunity to do God’s will. In the next few verses of the same chapter, we read that Philip who followed Jesus, saw Nathanael and asked him to come and see the Jesus of Nazareth.

What if God has assigned one person in everybody’s life to share the gospel? And what if we do not do it? When God spoke to me from this chapter of John, I burst into tears..I asked God to show me that person when I pass by…I asked Lord to lead me to that person and at the same time give me the courage to share Jesus…may be through my words or through my actions.…We never know, we may be assigned someone like Simon Peter who in later years are going to be greatly used by God.

Today, let us ask God to show us our purpose in life….It may not be that easy for us to go preach to the corners of this world…but what about that one person in your neighborhood, in your work place, in your school or  in your church. God is expecting a Simon Peter or Nathanael with us when we follow Him.  I love the chorus of this famous song

          “Must I go, and empty handed?”

           Must I meet my Savior so?

           Not one soul with which to greet Him,

           Must I empty-handed go?

God Bless,

Rani John

Responses

  1. Rani,
    Thanks for the devotion. Yes it is our responsibility to tell others about God or atleast pray for them. I am doing to some extent but I am sure that God wants more… I want to renew my commitment to use the opportunities God gives me to tell others about God more boldly..

  2. What a powerful example and life William Carey lived for Christ! It certainly makes me re-evaluate with Him and make sure that I am in line with His will and what He wants me to be doing each day! God bless you and yours! love, deb

  3. Yes, we have to take someone and everyone to Jesus, just like four took a crippled to Jesus. Work of unity and faith. Also we have to take Jesus to others, on our daily walk. Great thoughts Rani, Keep write by the inspiration from God and influence others. God bless you.

  4. truly impelling one rani chechi…a reminder for our assignmnets in faith


Leave a Reply

Categories

