Posted by: springsinthedesert | February 22, 2011

My Hiding Place In Jesus

And the LORD said, “Here is a place by Me, and you shall stand on the rock.So it shall be, while My glory passes by, that I will put you in the cleft of the rock, and will cover you with My hand while I pass by. Then I will take away My hand, and you shall see My back; but My face shall not be seen.”

     Exodus 33:22-23

Moses is one of the important characters in the bible who had several opportunities to have continuous communications with God. Right from the burning bush, at Mt. Horeb, He is hearing from God. And I believe that Moses got the greatest opportunity to witness great miracles of deliverances from God. Moses got to see the ten plaques God did to deliver the people of Israel from bondage. Not only that, throughout the wilderness, he witnessed various provisions from God; food, water, protection from the enemy and God’s continuous presence with them. One thing I like about Moses is that he had a very open relationship with God. He spoke from his heart. The above key verse is taken from Exodus , chapter 33. There we read Moses being very bold in his requests. Though he has experienced many visits from God, he wants to have more of God..Moses wants to see God, see His glory, experience His power, his presence and also His miracles. And he is asking Lord, “Please show me your glory”

I love the answer God gave to his request. He said, “I will make all My goodness pass before you, and I will proclaim the name of the LORD before you…. But He said, “You cannot see My face; for no man shall see Me, and live.” And the LORD said, “Here is a place by Me, and you shall stand on the rock. We worship a God who answers our earnest desire to see the presence of God and at the same time  who is concerned about our life. He knows that we being human, cannot contain the glory of God in its full presence. God said Moses has a place in Him, like a cleft in the rock. With His mighty hand , God will guide Moses so that he will be able to see only His back.

How often do we ask God to reveal His glory? Moses was in the wilderness facing some difficulty, yet he asked God to reveal His glory. What would be our reaction in our wilderness period..Our constant prayer would be to have a deliverance in that current problem we are facing. But Moses understood that seeing God in the middle of his difficulties will give him the strength to move on and face the challenges. So he asked Lord and received what he asked for. Sometimes, we forget the magnitude of our request. We ask lot of things without knowing whether we are able to handle or contain the answers for those prayers. But God says that we have a position in Him. We have a cleft to hide..and that is Jesus Christ.

We may not always see God in the middle of our trials, but God will help us hide in Jesus and cover us with His mighty hands so that things that are not to be seen should always remain concealed to us. But at the same time, He will remove His hands at the right time so that we will get the assurance that He was there in that trouble of ours..He will let us see the trail of Him. While you were in that trouble, God was in the midst of it working in favor of you, fighting for you…and all that time, He protects you in Him..and covers you with his hands so that you will not see things that you are not able to handle at that time….but after He has seen us through the storm, He will make us see the back..a trace of His glory..so that we can be so sure that we were not alone in that battle…but God was definitely there in the middle of that storm…

It gives me great comfort and security to know that I have a place in Him…a place for me to hide…a place for me to be far from destruction, a place of protection. While I’m there in that cleft of that Rock, God works his wonder in that storm of mine and gives me the deliverance. Not only that I receive a deliverance from God, I receive an assurance that He was there..and I get to see His glory revealed in that situation of mine. What a wonderful God we serve? Today, let us ask Him to show His glory. To face our todays, we need to see Him. No matter how hard your challenges for today are, be confident that you have a hiding place…in Him.

God Bless,

Rani John

Responses

  1. i just checked this site and found it helpful. if i can have some materials in my inbox.

  2. Thank you Rani, for the comfort and encouragement this brings, knowing that He has us covered and protected! love, deb


Leave a Reply

Categories

