Posted by: springsinthedesert | November 24, 2010

Be Thankful

Joshua  4 :5-7

             And  Joshua said to them, “………………………………..What do these stones mean to you?”, then you shall answer them that the waters of the Jordan was cut off before the ark of the covenant of the Lord;And these stones shall be for a memorial to the children of Isreal forever”

                        We know the context of the above verse. As soon as the priest’s feet who bore the ark of the covenant touched the water’s edge,the water flowing upstream and downstream stopped until all the people crossed completely over the Jordan.  When they all reached the other side of Jordan, as a memorial to what the Lord has done in their lives, they took 12 stones from the midst of Jordan and placed them there. It was a sign for them to always thank God for His marvelous works in their lives.

Do we remember all the wonderful things God has done in our lives?  If you ask me that question, I might say ” Yeah I do remember some of the things that God has done in my life …but not all of them.”  That is because we are all human in nature and we forget most of the things. But that is not an excuse not to thank God.  Its true that we must have forgotten some of the things, but there are few things that we dont even know that we should be thankful for, or few things that we take granted in our lives.  As the above scripture says, do we keep a memorial just to remind ourselves and our children to thank God for the things He has done ?

He has provided His mercies and faithfulness which is new every morning( which is needed for that particular day). He has given His guidance when it was difficult for us to make a choice. God has showered His love on us when we were in desperate conditions. When troubles were raging on us, He has given us His heavenly peace. We were under His protection till this hour even though we are not seeing His angels all around us.  These are some of the things that we take granted in our lives.

I remember , few months back, one day as I was coming out of a parking lot,  God told me that there was an accident awaiting…First I thought that it was a warning for me to drive carefully. While driving ,I just made a quick prayer asking Lord to protect me .  Minutes passed and as I was crossing a light,I could see an ambulance coming to me in high speed and I was only half way thru. In a second , I could hear both my car and the ambulance hitting at the brakes very hard and stopping in the middle of the road. I was saved not because I was careful, but because His angels stood between my car and the ambulance. Think of all the other days that we were not even careful while driving and He has protected us even without warning us. How often do we take His provisions lightly.

As the scripture says…lets keep a memorial to remind ourselves all the things God has done in our lives.

In Him,

Rani John

Responses

  1. Beautiful post and reminder of all He is doing for us. No end of things to be thankful for, is there. And you are certainly one of those things! 🙂 Blessings and love! deb


Leave a Reply

Categories

