Posted by: springsinthedesert | November 15, 2010

Have Confidence In Your Provider

And this is the confidence that we have in him, that, if we ask any thing according to his will, he heareth us: And if we know that he hear us, whatsoever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we desired of him.

          1 John 5 :14-15

Sometimes I like to go through my Bible and just read the underlined verses and remember the time I have read that. Most of the verses I have underlined will have a specific attachment to my life, may be a promise given to me, or a question answered or even lessons that I have learned. I have the habit of writing down the dates and also a small word on the side of the bible, which will help me remember the significance of that verse in my life. The above verse caught my attention because the word “have” in the 15th verse was underlined bold and within quotes. I started reading those verses again and again and He revealed to me a simple truth of prayer and increased my confidence.

This verse explains to us the way in which we should approach God in prayer. And at the same time, this shows us why some of our prayers are not answered. When you pray,

Have confidence in Him: Do you believe strongly that He is able to give you what you have asked Him for? Do you have confidence in the Jehovah Jireh..who is your provider.When a baby is hungry, he just cries and his mother identifies his cry and gives him food right? The infant does not try himself to get the food and quench his thirst or hunger. He knows that hearing my cry, my mother will run and meet my need. This is the same confidence that we need to have with our Abba Father. He knows our cry. He understands our wants. We just have to trust Him for His provisions in our life.

Know that our prayers are heard: Feel the presence of God in your prayer closets. Don’t just pray because its your prayer time or since you did not pray for long. Its an intimate conversation with you and your creator. Tell Him your prayers, your concerns and your fears. Listen to what He has to say regarding that matter. That’s how you make sure that your prayers are heard. Most of the times, we sit for prayer, pour out everything that was in our heart and then we just get up and walk away. When God is ready to talk to us, we are not anywhere there and are occupied with something else in our lives.

Ask according to His will:  He will not deny us anything which is His will. As human, we may not always understand God’s will in our lives. And for many of us, His ways may seem very different and vague. But if you have a willing heart to submit to His mighty plans, then even if you dont fully understand it at that time, He will make it beautiful and give to us at His right time.

Now I would like you to read the above verse once again. Bible says that you can have anything that you have asked for, if you have the above 3 conditions. Let me put it this way, you will have whatever you ask in prayer, if you are sure you are asking Him according to His will and you have confidence in Him who is able to provide everything you have asked for.

Next time when you sit down to pray, think whether you have confidence in your provider. Are you sure your prayers are according to the will of God and they are heard? Think about all those prayers that are not answered yet? What is that we are lacking in those areas? Correct those and we will “have” what we have asked in prayer.

In Him,

Rani John

Responses

  1. Personally speaking, I think the problem lies for me in not understanding His will and ways . . .praying for what I think I want and need. But, I also pray for Him to change me and so He has, so that I can see that He is answering prayer, just in a different way than I was looking for. Does that make sense? ha! So glad that HE understands and knows what I need! God bless you, Rani!


Leave a Reply

Categories

