Posted by: springsinthedesert | November 10, 2010

Trusting Him

For today’s devotion I would like you to read Psalms 13. Since it is a psalm with only 6 verses, I would like to write it here itself.

1 How long wilt thou forget me, O LORD? for ever? how long wilt thou hide thy face from me?

2 How long shall I take counsel in my soul, having sorrow in my heart daily? how long shall mine enemy be exalted over me?

3 Consider and hear me, O LORD my God: lighten mine eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death;

4 Lest mine enemy say, I have prevailed against him; and those that trouble me rejoice when I am moved.

5 But I have trusted in thy mercy; my heart shall rejoice in thy salvation.

6 I will sing unto the LORD, because he hath dealt bountifully with me

This is a Psalm of David. Yesterday, when I read this, I had the same feelings like David. I had asked the same question, How long, Lord? Have you ever asked God like that? One thing that I liked about this Psalm is that David was very true about his feelings while he wrote this. He was very open to the Lord. His emotions and his feelings were just transparent. I like that kind of relationship with God. Nothing in our life is hidden from God, but that is not an excuse for not expressing how we feel to our creator. Many of us behave like hypocrites to our God. We do that assuming that God might think bad about us. But the truth is, He wants us to be true to our feelings.

Reading this Psalm once again, you will understand that it was David’s feelings and not the reality.God will never forget us and hide his face from us. But he did not have any problem expressing his feelings to God. But the most amazing thing about this Psalm is David did not continue in his desperate state of mind. Verses 5 and 6 show us a completely different person. If at the beginning, he was desperate and troubled, at the end he was filled with a steadfast faith which made him rejoice in God’s salvation. How did this sudden change happen? From a man who felt forsaken by Lord to a man singing and praising God? He took the choice of trusting God.

We do not know the circumstances that made him write this Psalm. But for sure, he was overwhelmed and troubled by the things around him. And that made him think that God had forsaken him. I’m sure that by the end of the Psalm, nothing in his life had changed. It might be the same. But his perspective towards them changed and that matters the most. And thats the power of faith.

It is ok to express how you feel to your God. But ask God to fill you with the faith you need the most in such unfavourable circumstances. The circumstances that trouble you might not change in a short time, but when you stop focusing on your feelings and your less desirable incidents of life, our attitude changes. And  when we do that, in His perfect time, you will see the circumstances of your life change too.

Sometimes, you feel desperate seeing all the others receiving what you have prayed for long. You feel like asking, “why Lord?”. You feel discouraged seeing you stand still, while others move on. Don’t show a smiling face to God while you are crying deep within. You might be doing that with others. But remember, He is your Father, your creator. He knows you better than anybody else. He is there to comfort you. He will uplift you from that desperate situation to a singing and rejoicing state of life. But it is the choice that you make that matters. To trust in His mercy and His salvation.

In Him,

Rani John

Responses

  1. I have a blog out of this today…This spoke to me! You sure write really well. That is a gift from the LORD!

  2. Rani, I have seen this very thing happen, so can attest it’s true. When I prayed, He changed me more than my circumstances. So now I pray for that, for Him to change me constantly, so I may keep being molded by Him. God bless you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

