Posted by: springsinthedesert | September 14, 2010

Cast Your Burden On The Lord

Cast your cares on the LORD and he will sustain you;he will never let the righteous fall.
                 Psalms 55:22

This is one of my favorite verses in the bible. If you understand the context of the Psalms 55, we understand that David was betrayed by his companion and counselor, Ahithophel, joined together with his own son Absalom in a conspiracy to overthrow King David (2 Samuel 15:12). If you read the whole psalm, you will understand that David penned down this psalm in great sorrow and agony.

Why did David feel the betrayal so difficult to bear? In verse 13 and 14 , we read that “For it is not an enemy who reproaches me;Then I could bear it.Nor is it one who hates me who has exalted himself against me; Then I could hide from him.But it was you, a man my equal, My companion and my acquaintance. We took sweet counsel together,And walked to the house of God in the throng”.

It was because the person who cheated him was not an enemy, but his close friend. If it was an enemy, he could bear it and if it was someone who hated him, he would not have cared this much…but this was his companion. Have you ever felt a situation like this? People whom you have trusted and loved as your own, your close friend..when they betray you … talk or act in a way which you have never thought before…it just breaks your heart.

In order to understand that verse more clearly, I will break down each words in that sentence and write down the description of it.

Verse 13       “But it was you, a man my equal, My companion and my acquaintance. We took sweet counsel together,And walked to the house of God in the throng”.

It is you                                                                        Personal and intimate

A man my equal                                                       A close friend

my companion                                                       shared good and bad times

my acquaintance                                                      someone who regularly meets

Had sweet fellowship                                              Had worshipped together

walked in the house of God in a throng           Experienced some of life’s greatest times together

Can you imagine getting hurt by someone this close? Just like us, David also felt like escaping from his situations and  be far away from all troubles. Even though the whole Psalm talk about his hurt and pain there are two key verses which brings lot of light into this psalm. And it gives us a direction in prayer when we are in a similar situation.

As for me, I will call upon God,And the LORD shall save me. Evening and morning and at noon .I will pray, and cry aloud, And He shall hear my voice.

                   Psalms 55:16-17

Those words “As for me” has great meaning. In other words, it means, ” I don’t know about others, but in my case, I will take this issue to my Lord. When you are hurt by someone, you will have anger towards that person, you may have inhibition and resentment in your heart. These feelings will not let you think properly. When that happens, it is our duty to take that issue to the Lord. Remember we are approaching the King of Justice..He is able to deliver you from this pain. Continuously submit your prayers in that matter and God will act according to His will.

Cast your burden upon the LORD, and He will sustain you; He will never allow the righteous to be shaken. But Thou, O God, wilt bring them down to the pit of destruction; Men of bloodshed and deceit will not live out half their days. But I will trust in Thee.
                  Psalms 55:22-23

This verse is like an exhortation. By the end of the psalm, we understand that David was healed from his hurt and pain. He is so sure that if you cast your burdens on Lord, He will sustain you. This is all possible because of our trust in the Lord.

You might be a person who are living with hurts of past relationships. Confess to God about your misery and pain. Tell him continuously to deal with this issue. Let not your emotions direct your actions. Praise the Lord for the plans He has for you about this particular circumstance in life.When you do that, you see God acting on your behalf and things working out in His perfect plans…Because He will never let the righteous fall.

In Him,

Rani John

    Responses

    1. Oh thank you Rani! I have such a relationship, that is painful and full of hurt . . .but can’t be avoided! How He comforts me and covers me in it . . .if I go to Him! How I suffer when I do not! Thank you for reminding me of what I always need to do. love you! deb

    2. Rani, As I read this I kept thinking of 1 Peter ch. 5:

      “7 Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you. 8 Be self-controlled and alert. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. 9 Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know that your brothers throughout the world are undergoing the same kind of sufferings.

      “10 And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast. 11 To him be the power for ever and ever. Amen.”

      God did restore David and made him strong, firm and steadfast after this ordeal because David cast all his anxiety about this terrible betrayal on God and did not give into the temptation to take matters into his own hands. What a great devotion. Peace, Linda


    Leave a Reply

        Categories

