Posted by: springsinthedesert | September 8, 2010

Learning To Face The Challenges

Even though I walk  through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me;  your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

                  Psalms 23:4

First of all, I would like to apologize to all my readers for not being consistent in my writings due to some personal commitments. And I would like to request you to continue praying for me to be faithful to the calling He has given me through this ministry.

In US, September is the beginning of another school year and parents are busy with their kids all ready to start a new year. My little one started her PRE-K today and seeing her all excited to go to school today morning made me think of her first day at preschool two years back. She started her school when she was just over two and a half and her first day at school was not that easy for both of us. I still remember the look on her face when I went to pick her up after the longest 3 hour I have ever faced in my life. With tears running down her cheeks, she cried in her childish babble…”No more school…I just want to stay with you, Mamma”. At that moment, I just felt like not sending my child back to school no matter how beneficial it is going to be in her life.

Today, looking through my window, seeing my precious going to school, I wondered how different she has become. She is no more that shy type who always like to be with Mamma…she is ready to face new challenges even though scared. She is able to adjust to the new environment better than before…only because she went through it and survived the fear. 

Tears flowing down my cheeks, a realization came to my mind which made me thank God for all the challenges that He made me go through in life. Standing near that window, I got a better perspective of the challenges of  this outer world… and the love of an Almighty Father who never give up on us. What if God never let us go through those valleys thinking that we are scared and weak to reach the other end. What if He thought that we will be better off without those valley like experiences? We would have still be scared and weak…startled at our first step, weak and tired, struggling to cross the valley.

Today, if anybody is going through a valley like experience, I would like to encourage you..There is a Father who knows the best for you though it is difficult for you to understand His love which lets you go through this unfavorable situations of life. He is capable enough to just carry you to the other end without letting you go through those challenges…but that way, you will never learn to cross a valley. Right now, even though its scary to place the next step and you are uncertain about the end of this valley, there is a God who holds you by hand and helps you cross the valley in His right time. And that day is not so far when you will turn back and say…”It was certainly difficult, but well worth it”…On that same day, you will be able to see the tears of joy on your Almighty Father’s face which says, “That’s my child, equipped and strong in spirit, ready for the next challenge”. So be strong and courageous…He will never give up on you.

God Bless,

Rani John

Responses

  1. Thank you soooo much, Rani. You are an outpouring of His love and grace to us. Always delivering what we need to hear in our valleys. Praying for you and yours, as He guides and loves you through each day. love, deb

  2. God bless you for writing this post, because it was like Jesus speaking right to my heart. I had one of those days that felt like I was swimming upstream in a Tsunami. Thank you for reminding me that my momentary troubles will make me stronger if I allow God to work in my life.

  3. Thanks Rani for another inspiring devotion.
    Our heavenly father is lovingly hoding us in the palm of his hands…..

  4. This was a wonderful example of how the Lord works in our lives! It really ministered to my heart. You are in my prayers.
    Desiree

  5. Rani, My favorite word in Psalm 23:4 is “through.” Somebody once told me we aren’t camping out or setting up house in the valley of the shadow of death, we are just traveling “through.” And as you so aptly point out, we aren’t doing it alone and it will strengthen our spirit by rising to the challenge.

    My son started 10th grade today, got himself out of bed, showered, made his own breakfast, and was out the door to catch the bus. But I can still remember the first time I left him at daycare when he was 2, and he cried because he didn’t want me to leave him. Just thinking of this gave me a glimpse of how our Heavenly Father must feel as he sees us grow in spirit and His strength. Peace, Linda

  6. […] Is an Important Preposition A fellow blogger wrote today about how God allows us to go through difficult times in our lives so that we might grow spiritually […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

