Posted by: springsinthedesert | August 17, 2010

Blessed Are Those Who Believed Without Seeing

Then Jesus told him, "Because you have seen me, you have believed; blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed."

            John 20:29

In our believers walk, are we able to trust Jesus at His word? Are you able to say, “If He has said so…then it will happen for sure”..then I would say, you are the most blessed person in the whole world. You know why, because there is a heaven who works in favor of those people who believes the word of God without any conditions.

In the book of John, chapter 4 we read about a royal official who had the privilege to believe Jesus at His word. His son was sick and he had come to see Jesus at Galilee. He has  heard a lot about Jesus and His miracles. It was at Cana in Galilee where Jesus did His first miracle…changing water into wine. And that miracle spread among the people of Galilee like a wild fire. This royal official approached Jesus with the desire to take Him home so that Jesus can heal his son.

Now, think about this man..He has travelled from Capernaum to Galilee with this burden in his heart. While leaving his house, he might have promised his wife and son that he would somehow bring Jesus to their house. What a great assurance it would have been if Jesus had accompanied him to his house. But Jesus had a different plan. Many other times, we have seen in the Gospels that Jesus went to the sick, laid his hands on them and healed them. But this time, Jesus’ way of healing was quite different. HE just sent His word…”Go in peace, your son lives”.

Reading that verse, I thought what would have been my reaction. I would have said, “Lord, its not that I do not trust your word, but its that I need a confirmation or an assurance that my child will live…and for that I need you to come with me in person…I need you to lay hands on my son…I need to see that miracle with my own eyes”.

But this man had a strong faith to take Jesus at His word. He departed in peace. On his way back, he did not have any doubts..he was rejoicing about the miracle even though he did not see or hear about the good news. Soon the servants came in search of him to say that the boy is back to life. This father was so sure that his son might have received the healing in that exact time when Jesus said the words of healing. So he remembered the timing and asked the servants the exact time of healing to confirm his faith.

How is our faith? Many a times, we expect to see miracles in crusades…Or otherwise, we have our own preconceived notions or ways in which a miracle can happen in our lives…They are just a kind of assurance to support our weak faith. The Word of God is with us, given to us to execute our faith in our everyday battles. Are we able to take the word as it is….just like a small child’s innocence. Then I believe that even before you reach your destination, the Word will go in front of you, doing the exact thing you believed so that you will not have to wait to see the deliverance..but receive it as soon as you hear it. So today, let us take Jesus at His word and carry on with our journey to see the miracle…Remember, if you believe, the Word is ahead of you doing the miracle for you.

God Bless.

Rani John

Responses

  1. I love this, thinking of His word going before me, as I believe. Very powerful, very wonderful. Praying and believing His word for you today. love, deb

    • Deb,

      Many times I have experienced God’s word going in front of me and working out miracles for me…and its so wonderful to have this powerful Word with us…Thank you for your continous encouragement…

      God Bless,
      Rani

  2. Thank you for spurring me towards faith, Rani. Sometimes I struggle to believe without seeing. May God make me trust in Him to have faith. Although there are so many unfinished symphonies around me, in His own perfect time my God will make everything beautiful. The power of God is more than enough to accomplish great things in my life. His supplies will always be more than adequate and much more than what I ask for. Thanks once again for the encouraging words. Remain blessed. Susan

    • Susan,

      Its really difficult to believe His word without seeing any favorable circumstances that supports the Word…But I believe that God will strengthen you and uplift you in this wait of yours and will teach you many lessons which you would have never accomplished if everything went smooth…Remember, when God opens a door…nobody can shut it…Wait for that one door of opportunity and I believe that its going to be revealed to you very soon…

      God Bless,
      Rani

      • Thank you for these words of blessing upon my life. Soon and very soon my breakthrough is coming, Halleluiah! May you be blessed. ‘The LORD watches over all who love Him.’ ‘And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are called according to his purpose.’- and you are one of them who is called-.

  3. Rani,
    This devotion really encouraged me so much so, that I am going to read it again and maybe a third time. 🙂
    I am still in the midst of the testing of my faith. I know that the Lord is still developing my faith and this devotion made me feel so encouraged. You are continually in my prayers and I also thank you for yours.
    Love,
    Desiree

    • Desiree,

      I’m glad that this devotion touched you…I’m praying for you…Feel free to mail me if Holy Spirit encourages you to do so…
      God Bless,
      Rani

  4. Rani, Thank you for pointing out what a wonderful God we serve, one whose Word goes before us to fulfill the miracles He has planned. I have faith that all will turn out as He has planned, even though I do not yet see it all. Peace, Linda

    • Linda,

      For many days, I have not been to other blogs and also have not replied to the comments in my blog…..I think God wanted me to be that way for some days…Thank you for your prayer and support…Yes, we serve a wonderful God who works out ways ahead of us…eventhough we do not see a full picture of it… He is going to do wonderful things in the coming days and I feel it..

      God Bless,
      Rani


Leave a Reply

Categories

