Posted by: springsinthedesert | July 12, 2010

Be Different In Prayer

Coming out, He went to the Mount of Olives, as He was accustomed, and His disciples also followed Him. When He came to the place, He said to them, “Pray that you may not enter into temptation.” And He was withdrawn from them about a stone’s throw, and He knelt down and prayed.

            Luke 22:39-41

How many of you believe that God will strengthen you well in advance before going through a great mission or a challenge in life? I have experienced that many times in my life. Yesterday was one of the toughest days of my life. But I have to tell you that God knew that in advance and filled me with Holy Spirit at Church and gave me  the strength and peace to face the rest of the day. After an overwhelming and tiring day, I did not have anything to write for today’s devotion, but while reading the Bible, He led me to a scripture which strengthened me to write in spite of my heavy burden.

Let us turn to the book of Luke , chapter 22, verses 39 to 47. There we read about the prayer of Jesus in the garden just before He was arrested. In verse 39, we see that Jesus went to the Mount Olives as always. Why did He go there often..It was a place where He constantly communicated with His Father in prayer. Jesus, the son of God had to pray?? If He showed us an example, then why are we reluctant or inconsistent in our prayer lives? Prayer has to be an important part of our daily life. This time when He went to the Mount Olives, His disciples also followed Him. When they reached there, Jesus asked them to pray so that they may not be tempted. Jesus knew that for the challenge they are about to face in the coming days, they need the strength from above and prayer alone can be the channel for that power.

The next verse really touched my heart…”And He was withdrawn from them about a stone’s throw, and He knelt down and prayed…” Why did He withdraw from His disciples? Why did He move forward about a stone’s throw to pray? According to our logics, we might suggest that praying with the fellow believers would have been more effective…But Jesus knew the magnitude and the importance of the challenge in His life…He knew that in few hours, His purpose in this earth is going to be fulfilled…and it is not a simple task. And for that He needed the strength from heaven…He needed the guidance from His Father. So He moved a little further from His disciples.

While reading this scripture, God reminded me that some of our earnest prayers has to be done a little further from everybody else. For some challenges we face, we need to be alone with our Heavenly Father and not with a company. May be, we need to pray more than others, may be a little more further that we have to fast and pray for many days..we may have to claim the Word of God in our prayers…Here we see that Jesus’ prayer was different from the disciple’s. He prayed more fervently that His sweat became like drops of blood. An angel from heaven came to attend to Him and strengthen Him. All because He was aware of the challenge ahead and prayed accordingly knowing the importance and depth of it.

Today, are you in a great need? The burden you are carrying might be too heavy for you…Go forward and withdraw from the world…from everything that you depend on..because for the great challenge ahead..you need the strength from above and God alone can provide that…This world cannot give you the courage and hope for your tomorrows. Remember that some of our requests need extra effort from our side…to be withdrawn from the group…but its worth it..because at your request, Heaven will send angels to assist you and strengthen you…So be different in your prayers…

God Bless,

Rani John

Responses

  1. God bless you, Rani, as you continue to minister to us even in your current need. That alone speaks volumes to me. Then, your devotions seem to explain to me what I am experiencing, comforting and confirming, strengthening me for each day.
    Here’s a scripture that is on my calendar for today, for you! “We Christians have no veil over our faces; we can be mirrors that brightly reflect the glory of the Lord. And as the Spirit of the Lord works within us, we become more and more like Him.” 2 Cor. 3:18 TLB This describes you! Thank you so much! love, deb

  2. Rani,
    Christ’s example to go off away from the group to pray is a great example to us all. Prayer with God is an extremely intimate time between Him and I, and in going off away from the fray, he was afforded the freedom from distraction, and was able to pray with concentration. When I am praying, if I do not isolate from everyone, invariably a dog will come in and lick my leg (Haha) or one of my family members will walk in talking on the phone not knowing I was there. But when i go off, lock a door and go to Him in prayer without disturbance, the prayers are far more intimate. Great post,God Bless
    Jim

  3. Thank you, Rani, for this devotion. Recently I was told that I was praying and fasting a bit too much than it should be and I should give myself longer hours of sleep and rest and relaxation. This may be because the answers to many of my requests have not yet reached me. For the past few days when I wake up in the middle of the night I did not know whether to sleep on or go to the other room and pray. You may not know how relevant this devotion is to me. May God give all of us who read this blog and you, Rani, the willingness and ability to pray and really enjoy being in His presence, away from the crowd.
    Susan

  4. Rani,
    I need to pray more….this is again another confirmation for me…….My personal time with saviour has to be increased….without that I will not have enough strength to live a fruitful christian life.

  5. Rani,
    Thank you for today’s word about effective prayer. Yes, there is nothing sweeter than praying in earnest and there is nothing more frustrating than drifting while praying because of disturbance. My favorite time to pray is early morning before my kids and wife have woken up when I can kneel in my study and pray. However, I have to admit that a crowded mind makes praying a challenge too and there are days when I have to keep asking the Lord to quieten my mind or refresh me so that I stay focussed and alert. Also, I will keep you in prayer and I know that God has His hand of blessing, comfort and grace upon you.
    Blessings,
    Vineet

  6. Rani, What a blessing to be able to withdraw from the crowd and be with our Heavenly Father! I love what you said, “This world cannot give you the courage and hope for your tomorrows.” Our courage and hope come from God alone. Sometimes He uses others to impart that courage and hope. But for some challenges, we must go directly to the source, Jesus Christ our Lord. Peace, Linda


Leave a Reply

Categories

