Posted by: springsinthedesert | July 7, 2010

If You Remain In Him…..

And now, dear children, continue in him, so that when he appears we may be confident and unashamed before him at his coming.

           1 John 2:28

I was going through a most popular scripture from the Bible…the first appearance of Jesus after His resurrection(John 20). How many times have I heard sermons from this portion and yet Holy Spirit forced me to stay there at few verses and made me meditate the scene in my imagination. I knew then and there that He wants me to look at this scene in a different perspective  and thus bring forth today’s devotion.

I invite you to come with me to that empty tomb of Jesus. Its pretty early and still dark..and I see Mary Magdalene running to the tomb. She could not sleep the previous night after witnessing that terrible and cruel death of her savior on that cross. She did not think about the time, her limitations as a woman or even the reaction of Jews. All she could think was about her savior. But to her surprise, she could see the big stone rolled away from the tomb. What would have happened to Jesus’ body? Did someone take Him? On her way back to the disciples’ house, she pondered.

Listening to her cry, Peter and another disciple ran to the tomb. We read in John 20:4 that the other disciple outran Peter and came to the tomb first. He stooped down and saw the linen lying there, but did not go in. While standing outside the tomb perplexed and confused, Peter arrived and went directly into the tomb. He saw the linen lying there and also found something more….He saw  the handkerchief that had been around Jesus’ head, not lying with the linen cloths, but folded together in a place by itself. But since the truth of resurrection was not revealed to them yet…they did not understand what happened and they left the tomb and went back to their homes..to their comfort places.

Now, the next verse struck me real hard and made me think…”But Mary remained outside the tomb weeping…” The words REMAINED WEEPING has tremendous meaning attached to it…To remain means to await..to be left to….to continue in the same state. She remained outside the tomb with the same burden…”Where is my LORD?”….She stayed back in that night, while everybody left…thinking that she could somehow find Him…she remained even though there was no hope…just because of her love towards HIM. Just like the other two disciples…she stooped down the tomb and she saw something different…not the physical evidence of a desperate situation…but a heavenly affirmation of a future hope and glory. Mary could have returned to her home just like the other two, yet she remained and became the first witness of resurrected JESUS. Oh..we serve a God who satisfies hungry and weeping souls.

How is our reaction when we face a desperate situation in life? Do we run to meet Him and seeing that things are not favorable at even the first glance…stand outside…perplexed and doubtful in the whole situation?…or do we take the courage to face it and see more evidences of HIS purpose and plan…but at the end go back to our comfort zones…not willing to remain in Him and find peace in that hopeless situation? Are we like Mary…taking the decision to remain in Him..no matter what…no matter whether there is hope or not…to await in Him and see the heaven respond to your earnest desire…to see JESUS resurrected for YOU. The more you remain in Him, the more revelations you’ll receive…You will know heaven’s purpose about your heart’s concerns, if you choose to REMAIN IN HIM. Turn around..Jesus is standing very close to you…to call you by name and tell you the Good News that HE IS ALIVE …FOR YOU.

In Him,

Rani John

Responses

  1. Your devotions are so heart touching . . .pulling us to Him. I am sure He is using you to help so many Rani, so many. Thank you for remaining in Him, no matter what, that we may be blessed as well. love and prayers, deb

    • Thank you Deb…Its my prayer that I will always listen to Holy Spirit and will write whatever He asks me to write….Most of the time….the devotions that He gives me speaks to me first before I post it for others…God’s word is defenitely a double edged sword.

      Blessings,
      Rani

  2. Rani,
    Wow, this is a good one. Waiting on Him despite our sadness, pains, and uncertainties is something I can only hope I am able to do. Great post of encouragement. God Bless
    Jim

    • Thank you Jim….God has been teaching me the lesson of waiting for many years….Each day, I learn something new…I have to say this phase is really difficult for me…yet so productive….I would request your continous prayer support…

      God Bless,
      Rani

  3. Beautiful devotion! When there are great adventures of faith being announced by people of enormous faith some like me ‘remain weeping’ in certain situations. It definitely is not the right thing to do in every situation. Some conditions demand us to be ‘Peters’ jumping out of the boat and walking on it, focusing on Jesus when He says, “come”. I know that some are against entertaining any question in mind when practising faith. But Peter was not ashamed to say, ‘Lord, IF IT IS YOU, tell me to come to you on the water.’ (Mat 14:28).

    Sometimes I used to wonder why my tears are flowing like this. This sharing has strengthened my faith today. I know for sure that every drop of tear that is shed is seen by our Lord. How can He ignore the tears of His dear ones and by pass their plea? Jesus who ‘ascended to His Father and our Father and His God and our God’ is interceding for us. Soon we will receive the breakthrough. Thank you, Rani. Remain in Him and soar up like an eagle!
    Susan

    • Susan,

      At times, God wants us to be like Peter and take the bold step of faith..yet some other times..He expect us to remain in Him just like Mary….God cannot just bypass our tears and move on with something else…He will respond to our tears….

      God Bless,
      Rani


Leave a Reply

Categories

