Posted by: springsinthedesert | June 24, 2010

Everything Is Possible For Him Who Believes

Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.

             Mark 11:24

For today’s devotion, I would like you to read with me Mark 9:14-29. There we see Jesus healing a boy possessed with an evil spirit. His father had brought him to the disciples of Jesus and they could not heal him. So when Jesus appeared before the crowd, he brought the boy near Jesus and requested Him to heal his son.

I love to read the conversation between Jesus and the boy’s father…especially the part which says that even His disciples could not heal him. While reading that verse, I thought what was the reason behind it? Bible scholars say that it is due to the lack of faith of the disciples. They could not believe in themselves and understand the magnitude of God’s power in them and so  could not picturise a  miracle happening through their own hands. I was thinking in another aspect too. The miracle was not possible, not only because of the lack of faith of the disciples..but it might be also due to the lack of faith in the boy’s father. What might be the cause for his unbelief…. the duration of the sickness? the complexity of it or the fear of previous attempted failures of healing? Whatever might be the cause, when he approached Jesus..his heart was just the same…unbelief, doubt, fear.

Is this the same with us? Do we approach God after all our other attempts have failed? Do we put our trust in others to solve our problems…While all this time, our miracle is with Him? All we have to do is to approach Him and ask Him for a deliverance.

Even after approaching the great physician, the boy’s father is asking Jesus, “If you can do anything, take pity on us and help us”. “IF YOU CAN??” It is nothing but the outward expression of the unbelief in his heart.

How often do we approach Jesus with this same question..”If you can really do this for me Jesus…if you could just heal me..if you could open that door for me…if you could just deliver me” …And we often misunderstand this attitude with humbleness before the Lord. We think that we are coming before the throne of God with humbleness when in reality it shows our lack of confidence in Him with whom we have entrusted our lives.

To that man, Jesus answered, “If you can? Everything is possible for him who believes” . He is saying the same to you and me..Don’t just come to Him because you failed everywhere else..Come to Him because your answer is only with Him. No matter how worse your condition is and how long you have been with that problem…when you are in His presence..your miracle is just a word away. But He acts in response to your faith. We read that the boy’s father cried out to Jesus for helping him overcome his disbelief. And I’m sure that Jesus answered His prayers..poured out faith in Him and also healed his son. He is going to do the same for you if you surrender your lack of faith before Him.

God Bless,

Rani John

Responses

  1. I have read that part of scripture many times Rani and cried out like that father . . .I believe, please help my unbelief! Thank you for encouraging us to believe and trust the only One who can truly deliver us. love, deb

  2. This blog came to my notice the first time when I was searching for something else. Since then I thank God for this lovely site. This blog gives the pertinent message for me each day. Thanks, Rani. “Can He do it for me?” is the most imprudent thought some of us foster inside… knowingly or unknowingly. Beyond that I struggle with another question, “Will He do it for ME?. Carnal thoughts suggest many ways of ‘earning’ God’s favour. Can anyone of us do anything that surpasses what was done for us on the cross by our Lord Jesus? He paid for it all. I have to keep on reminding myself of this everyday as I wait for my breakthrough. I pray today, “I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!”.

    May God give you the revelation each day to touch the hearts of many. Blessings to you, Susan.

  3. This article fails to mention the real reason why the disciples could not deliver the boy. They asked Jesus why and he said that that kind of evil spirit could only come out by prayer. It is fair to assume that the disciples failed to either pray or pray enough or even pray with the right motives.


Leave a Reply

Categories

