Posted by: springsinthedesert | June 18, 2010

God Is Molding You For His Ministry

I was reading a book today named, ‘The Disciplines of a Godly Woman’ by Barbara Hughes. There is a chapter in that book which talks about Suffering and perseverance. The author says that there are different reasons for suffering..

  1.        Suffering is God’s means of perfecting us
  2.        Suffering is a means of spreading the Gospel
  3.        In persevering through suffering we see God

                                           (The Disciplines of a Godly Woman by Barbara Hughes)

I totally agree with all the above points, but started to think more about the second one…Suffering or a wilderness experience can be an opportunity to spread the Gospel. There were many testimonies quoted in that book and looking back to mine, I felt hundred percent sure about it. Our wilderness experiences are molding us for a great ministry. How many of you agree with me today?

I would not have thought of a blog, if I had not gone through a miscarriage in my life. God gave me an opportunity to take that painful experience of mine to share the Gospel with many and encourage those who are broken hearted.Isn’t it wonderful…to turn your wilderness into a valley of springs?

God directed me to two men in the Bible who was led to the wilderness.  We read in Luke 1:80 that “And the child grew and became strong in spirit; and he lived in the desert until he appeared publicly to Israel”. Who is this child? Its John the Baptist who is considered to prepare the way for Jesus. If that is so, then why is he in the wilderness? How could he do his purpose there in that wilderness? I believe that God might have been preparing John, there in that desert….John grew strong in spirit in that wilderness before he started preaching the baptism of repentance for the forgiveness of sins. His ministry was victorious because he was strengthened in spirit in his wilderness.

Jesus was led to the wilderness before His public ministry. He was in the desert for forty days. And there in that wilderness, Satan tried tempting Him. Luke 4:13-14 reads, “When the devil had finished all this tempting, he left him until an opportune time. Jesus returned to Galilee in the power of the Spirit, and news about him spread through the whole countryside.” For Jesus, the wilderness was a place of Satan’s temptations, yet He could overcome all those tricks of Satan and was strengthened in the power of the spirit for the great ministry ahead.

Whatever that you are going through is an opportunity to grow in Him and to be used by Him. Your public ministry starts at the end of your wilderness experience…no matter what it is. You might be going through pain, loss, unanswered questions, doubts, anxieties in that desert of yours….may be hundred of temptations from the evil one too…But God is preparing you for a ministry and you are being equipped with the strength and the power of the Holy Spirit. Once that wilderness is over, God might use you in your own family,  in your neighborhood, in your church, in your city or even in your nation…So better be ready…Its not going to be the same.

In Him,

Rani John

Responses

  1. Oh my goodness Rani. . .God spoke to me about being used just recently. ! It is in someone’s life and though He has said something similar before, I didn’t receive it the same way I did this time. I thought of it as being unloved, unimportant, not valued . . .used. Then, a light turned on! Yes, USED BY HIM. That is what I want, isn’t it? That is my desire, to be of use, to serve Him. And so He touches me through you yet again. Blessings and love in Jesus name! deb

    • Deb…I’m so glad that He touched you through this devotion…While..writing you never know how and which way it is going to be a blessing…But He knows and he works wonders with it…Oh…the satisfaction of doing God’s work is just amazing…Everytime I recieve a comment saying that the post was helpful for them, I feel as though I recieved a paycheque…I pray that you will be a lighthouse to many in darkness and will direct the lost to the shore..to Him..
      God Bless,
      Rani

  2. Rani,
    I completely agree, in entering into and enduring the wilderness, and making it out of the wilderness, we then become qualified to be a wilderness guide. A guide aids others in their trek also. I also believe this, time in the wilderness is time spent in solitude, solitude is not common in the fast paced city life, it is rare. When going through the trials of life in your wilderness, things that used to seem important no longer do, and so we tune them out and we have the solitude to commune more fully with God. excellent teaching sister, God Bless
    Jim

    • You said it so beautifully Jim..Yes, wilderness is a place of solitude..a place of complete dependency on God alone. These days God is teaching me to lean on Him..and Him alone and not on any other relationships for my consolation. My dependancy on others and things of this world is being taken away from me…and that makes me concentrate on God more…and I love it, even though it is painful at times…

      Thank you for being a mentor in my life…and I mean it.
      God Bless,
      Rani
      Rani

  3. This is great! The waiting time, the wilderness experience, the ridiculing attitude of others who are keen in knowing in what way you are different from others because you are not ashamed to make known that your anchor and stay are in the Lord , etc., are all included in the life journey of a Christian. Many are eager and quick to counsel others. I believe that one’s loveless invented philosophies or knowledge without experience will never ever bring consolation or encouragement in the life of a fellow human. My experience has taught me the best support I can give to any fellow human is if I was there too. You might not have been through identical experience as the other one but many of your wilderness experiences will teach you much and beyond any psychiatrist or psychologist can conceive. This is the work of the Holy Spirit in you, Rani. When your personal, every day experiences are shared, those become unique and effective in the lives of us who read. Thank you for sharing via this weblog. May God bless you and use you to touch many lives.
    Susan

    • This speaks to my heart. All I can say is that I truly know what you mean. Thank you.

    • Thank you for speaking out your heart…I totally understand what you mean…Have been there where people try to give you advices and consolations without even knowing what one is going through..I’m ashamed to say that I was one among them few years back…But today…I learned the hard way to understand the pain of others from their shoes…If I’m not able to comfort them in anyway..I just try to be there with my presence and pray for them…I know that I have failed many times in my learning…but one day I’m sure He will perfect me according to His will…..I’m sure your wilderness is for a reason…and your ministry will be revealed very soon..

      God Bless,
      Rani

  4. This is exactly what i needed to read this morning! I have been and still am in the desert. The Lord is teaching me not to ask ‘why, why why’? but to exchange all my questions into trust. I dont understand, I just trust in the Lord. Thank you for pointing out that the Lord is developing us while we are waiting there. It doesnt feel good to our flesh, but it is good for our spirits. Your devotion made the wheels in my mind spin and I was thinking, who else had to go into the desert…? Then I also thought of Moses.
    Great devotion as always…
    Thank you and hugs,
    Desiree

    • Just today morning, I was thinking about you…and I’m happy to know that God is strengthening you in your spirit. I wanted to write about Moses too..but thought that the devotion will be too long….I’m with you in learning to stop ask “Why”. Let us trust in our God who acts “Suddenly” inspite of our whys and hows..

      God Bless,
      Rani

  5. Rani, I’ve been through that wilderness multiple times and am thankful that God was with me and for how He developed my trust in Him during that time. I am excited to see my wilderness turned into a valley of springs! Peace, Linda

    • Linda,

      The testimony that you have shared through your posts have been an inspiration in my life…God calls people from different times, areas, living circumstances to influence many others and He reveals His glory through us…I’m glad to know you through our Lord…If He was not in our lives..we would not have known each other…Praise God for that\

      God Bless,
      Rani

  6. Rani, thank you for this. And I echo what everyone above has shared, especially what Susan said about truly being able to reach and comfort others. For me, it is hard to receive consolation unless i *know* the person who is offering it has suffered, remained steadfast, and emerged victorious. When I can truly see the power of God in that person’s life, knowing they have been through the darkest, and then reached the light of day with joy in their heart and a spring in their step, then I know the truth of the words they offer me. I pray each day for the Lord to use me fully to bring glory to his name–to use every single facet of my life, all of my sufferings and then victories to show the power of faith and trust in him…to show as you posted yesterday that his grace is sufficient, and his power is complete. I pray the same for all of us who have endured the dry times in order to fulfill God’s purpose for our lives.

    • Tuesday,

      Very true…One can understand someone’s pain only if they have gone through the same…And I strongly believe that all our wilderness experience, whether similar or different, whether big or small, whether intense or less painful..will mold us up and at the same time equip us to uphold many others in the darkness.

      God Bless,
      Rani

  7. Rani,
    It feels good to come back to you blog which is like an Elim in the desert of this life. Yes, our struggles certainly help us grow in faith in the Lord but for me, they are a means of connecting with others who are struggling because I relate to them in the suffering and can share how God is faithful through my own experience. Suffering certainly builds our testimony and helps us be more effective in sharing the good news of Jesus Christ. Thank you for sharing God’s word of encouragement with us.
    Blessings,
    Vineet


Leave a Reply

Categories

