Posted by: springsinthedesert | May 18, 2010

Stretch Out Your Hand In Faith And He Will Stop For You

When she heard about Jesus, she came up behind him in the crowd and touched his cloak,because she thought, "If I just touch his clothes, I will be healed."Immediately her bleeding stopped and she felt in her body that she was freed from her suffering.

            Mark 5:27-29

When God directed me to the scripture Mark 5:21-35, I was hesitant to write from it and I reasoned saying that I have already written a post regarding the healing of the woman with the bleeding. What else can I write this time? And moreover yesterday’s post was also about faith and I thought that the subject is repetitive…But Holy Spirit pushed me to write from the same and I happily submitted , after all HE is the author of this blog and I’m just His pen.

As we all are familiar with story of that woman who suffered from bleeding, I do not want to explain the context more. Jesus was on His way to heal Jairus’s  daughter. And seeing all the miracles that He did, people gathered around Him from all over the town and thronged Him. They all pushed and pulled to just have a peek of Jesus. Some of them wanted to touch Him. Suddenly Jesus stopped and looked around. He asked the question which seemed to be very silly to the disciples. “Who touched me?”

What a question? Hundreds of people are walking in groups. There is not even space to breathe and Jesus is asking about that one person who touched Him? How can they find out from this multitude? Verse 32 says that He looked around to see that woman who touched Him. He knew that her touch was totally different from all the others’. He knew that power did pass from Him and she did receive the healing. He stopped and the crowd stopped. The woman was trembling when she came out. But Jesus strengthened her saying, “Daughter, your faith has healed you. Go in peace and be freed from your suffering."

That one sentence has immense meaning attached to it. God called her ‘daughter’…Through faith, she received a wonderful relationship with Him. All these years, she was not appreciated for anything that she possessed. She was always been judged, because bleeding in those days were considered to be a symbolic representation of sin. When Jesus publicly announced about her faith that stopped Jesus to work that miracle for her, it was like publicly appreciating her faith. Jesus also offered her peace which she never had all these twelve years and also blessed her with the healing that she always longer for.

Holy spirit wants to ask you a question today. Are you one among that crowd who touched Him without expecting any miracle? Or are you like that woman who strongly believed that just touching the hem of His garment will bring changes in her life? Jesus can understand the difference in our touch. When we stretch our hand in faith, power is released from Him and we receive the miracle immediately. Nothing could stop Jesus from doing that miracle for you…because He responds to strong faith. He might be on His way to another purpose…The crowd might be troubling Him..even the disciples around could not understand what He meant…yet He stopped for her.

He wants to stop for you..He wants to ignore everything around and respond to your touch. And His eyes are constantly searching for that one person who touch Him differently. He is looking for you and me who will stand out from the crowd with a strong faith. And when power is released from Him on our behalf, He is going to give us this four folded blessing just like that woman with the strong faith…A new relationship with Him, an appreciation of approval, an everlasting peace and the healing in that area which you have been longing for years. Are you willing to touch Him differently than others…and  stand out in that crowd?

In Him,

Rani John

Responses

  1. awesome

    • Thank you for visiting..Hope this blog will be a blessing for you

      God Bless,
      Rani

  2. Rani,

    I want…I desire for Him to know that my trust in Him is complete and wholehearted. I want Him to see my faith in Him…is based on His ability and not my own understanding. I want to reach out and touch Him differently…so He might turn and face me…not as someone in the crowd…but as someone with a name…and an identity. And…many a times, He has stopped just for me…to reassure, to comfort and yes, to approval of my relationship with Him. He has been that GOOD!

    Thank you for calling us to reach out and touch Him by faith.

    Gladwell

    • Gladwell,

      I’m sure that God sees you differently in the crowd..because you are the chosen one with a name and identity…I thank God for all those times He has stopped for you and has done great miracles in your life..so that today, you are able to share this Jesus with many others..

      I’m glad that I know you..
      God Bless sis,
      Rani

  3. Yes, I am touching the hem of His garmet! I am in need of my own miracle and I know I must believe in His word and in faith to recieve from Him! I am glad you wrote this devotion as I am going threw my ‘waiting on God in faith for my miracle’ season…I just pray that my faith does not waver but is strong like this womans was!
    Thank You Rani!
    Desiree

    • Desiree,

      Together let us stretch out and touch the hem of His garment…Let us show a different kind of faith and love towards our God…standing unique and special in the crowd..
      In this season of waiting, I pray that God will strengthen and comfort us through His WORD.

      Prayers,
      Rani

  4. Rani, I still remember the day I touched the hem of His robe in complete faith, and He healed me from many years of depression. Just like this woman, I had been to doctors and other “healers” for years with no success. One touch from Jesus freed me and I will be forever blessed. Peace, Linda

    • Linda,

      I thank God for that wonderful day that HE healed you…so that today you are sharing what you recieved with many others..
      I thank God that He stopped for you that day so that you can be a blessing in my life too..

      God Bless,
      Rani

  5. Rani
    The faith of this woman is awesome. She is an example of someone who put her faith in action. She knew Christ was the Savior, and that He was so powerful that touching His cloak woulf be enough. If we are only that faithful in our lives. God Bless
    Jim

    • Jim,

      I wish I had that strong faith..Sometimes we feel restricted and limited by the surroundings…we have our own pre-determined ideas about God’s dealings in our lives..and anything outside that is not that acceptable to us…I wish I could change that attitude and just trust Him no matter what..I’m learning…and one day I’ll succeed.

      God Bless,
      Rani

  6. This is yet another time of His leading that has led me to tears. Praying to reach out and touch Him today and everyday, remembering all that He has healed and delivered me from. Thank you Rani, as you write for Him!

    • Deb…I’m glad that this touched you…We are serving a God who even understands our touch, our sighs and even our desires…HE will stop no matter what…People around may not understand what we go through…but our master knows our heart and He will respond to that strong faith.

      Praying for you,
      Rani


Leave a Reply

Categories

