Posted by: springsinthedesert | May 12, 2010

My Heart…God’s Dwelling Place

Today, I would like to apologize to all my readers that I have not been showing a hundred percent effort towards my postings for past few days. Its been few days since I have read my favorite blogs and have replied to the comments that you have sent to my posts. ‘Busy’ is not the correct word to describe my current state, but I would rather say ‘caught up with something’. But I feel that I have gone off track in my priorities of life…Did something else take more importance than God?? Not really…but I admit that more time is spent on those area of my life…than God. So this post is not only a confession to you, but to My God who was patiently waiting for my return…not by fifty percent….but by hundred percent.

While I sat before God asking for His forgiveness, He reminded me about a passage from the Bible. John 2:13-16. It was almost the time of Passover and during this time, all the Jews attend the temple of God. They spent most of their time in the temple worshipping God and offering Him sacrifices. The animals for sacrifice were different..some offered doves, some sheep, some oxen depending upon their sufficiency. And when Jesus saw the temple of God like a market place where the merchants sold the animals of sacrifice and traded money, He could not stand it. Jesus rebuked them and overturned the tables of the money makers…He sent them all out saying..”Take these things away! Do not make My Father’s house a house of business!”.

Why do you think Jesus was angry at those people in the Temple..They were inside the temple…but their purpose were different. Instead of praising and worshipping God, they used the temple for their own…more clearly…for their own business..Now you might say…after all, they were making others’ faith life easy..they were selling the sacrifice animals right there at the temple…This made life more easy for the worshippers because they need not get their own sacrifices from home. But no matter how easier and comfortable they made others’ life, they were making money for themselves…Temple was their market place…rather than God’s dwelling place…So Jesus said, ”Take these things away! Do not make My Father’s house a house of business!”.

That verse hit me really hard..Have I been using the temple of God for my business instead of God’s? To my amazement, I started justifying my behavior..…I said..”Its not that you were not my first priority Lord…After all, people get distracted when they try to make their life settled..for some…its a new job, for some others its new house, kids, family,..like that the list goes on..After all You do not want us to be exempted from these while we are in this world…Right”

But in spite of all these justifications, I knew deep within, that my heart… the temple of God has been used for world’s business..more than for God and His work. I was pre-occupied lately more with the  thoughts of this life..than that of heaven. My heart had small doves, fat sheep, oxen, money tables…all used for the worship..but they were all occupying the place which was meant for worshipping God. My time was spent more on them,  making life comfortable and settled, than on God..Not that you and me should not think about our life, our family, our job, our ministry…but they can become a business…then they turn to be a way of concentrating more on us than of God.

He said to me…..”Take these things away! Do not make My Father’s house a house of business!”. I confessed and repented…shuffled my priorities once again…and then asked Him to dwell in this temple of mine…and I’m blessed because  HE did.

Today, I pray that this devotion will help you check out your temple…your heart where God dwells…Do you have any doves or sheep which you claim to be using in worship…but rather occupy the place of God…more space and time used for your own life, which you say is given by God??? Are you using God’s Temple for your own profit?? Its time to admit it and make a change.

God Bless,

Rani John

Responses

  1. Dear sweet Rani . . .I didn’t notice you not giving 100% here or on comments. I do know what you mean though about checking and I get brought up short often. Once, He showed me that I was really worshiping my time alone more than I was using it to worship Him. I love how He always makes a way for us to come back closer to Him. God bless you and yours! Thank you for the sacrifice of your posts! deb

  2. Rani,

    This one is so powerful. I was there a few weeks ago. So…I know perfectly well what you are talking about. One of these days I will write my encounter with God on this. It is true…we cannot serve God and mammon at the same time. It is simply not possible. Your post is just a reaffirmation.

    Let us build His house, and He will build ours!

    Thank you and God bless!

    Gladwell


Leave a Reply

Categories

