Posted by: springsinthedesert | May 5, 2010

God’s Presence Can Change You

When Moses finished speaking to them, he put a veil over his face.  But whenever he entered the LORD’s presence to speak with him, he removed the veil until he came out. And when he came out and told the Israelites what he had been commanded, they saw that his face was radiant. Then Moses would put the veil back over his face until he went in to speak with the LORD

            Exodus 34:33-34

Today, after many days, I spend some quality time with my Lord. I definitely have my moments of prayer  with Him…I read Bible often and meditate on the WORD Then what exactly is this quality time???…Its a time when I feel more satisfied and engulfed in His presence rather than being in haste to finish my routine time of communion with Him and continue my daily life. This quality time is when you truly experience the glory of God and just crave for it to happen like an everyday affair…a time when His glory is revealed in your face and you are able to carry it the whole day and people start noticing the difference…Oh..I just love such moments with my Lord….I wish it could just happen everyday.

Have you ever noticed that the time that you spend with Lord affects your attitude and emotions in that day? I can understand the difference not only in my writings, but also in my dealings with others and my attitude towards every aspects of life. The more  time you spend with God, the more you feel relaxed about the issues of life. The more you see the glory of God, the more you will be able to rejoice in your circumstances…and feel the heavenly peace.

Reading the book of Exodus, we see in  the 34th chapter, Moses going up to the mountain to receive the tablets of commandments from God. After spending time with God , he came down to meet with the people of Israel..without realizing that his face was radiant with the glory of God. The people of Israel were scared to look at him because Moses’ face reflected God’s glory. From verses 33 and 34, we understand that Moses covered his face with a veil  after speaking to his fellowmen until he entered God’s presence again to speak with Him. His face was not covered when he spoke with God and with his people.

I do not know exactly why he covered his face. I’m sure that there must be some significance behind that.  But I would like to share a thought on that veil from the people’s perspective.…Seeing the veil on his face…people understood…”Moses has not spoken to God yet” or in other words…if they saw him without the veil..they said..”Moses was with God and he is come down to reveal what God has to tell us”..Pardon me if I’m wrong…but I think the people used the outward presence of that veil to identify whether Moses was with God and whether he has something to share from God.

If that is true, do you think people around us can identify whether we have spend time with God through a ‘veil’ we carry around. When you are with God, your face is reflecting His glory and nothing in this world, not even the worries of life is preventing you from revealing that glory to others. Our attitudes will be so pure and correct, our souls will be rejoicing, our hearts will be at peace..because we spend that quality time with God.

I’m ashamed to say that if I’m not right with God, then even my four year old can see the difference. She will be the first to notice my veil.. My face will be long,I’ll be irritated, always stressed, frustrated over little things, attitudes all set wrong…oh then I know I’m just a big mess…The more I stay there, the more miserable I will be…so I take the veil off and run to meet Him…my only place where I can be myself. In that mountain, spending some time alone with Him will change my day…He will clear all my doubts, all my frustrations, all my insecurities and His presence alone will help me reflect God’s glory.

Have you spend your time alone with God…a quality time…a time well spent…Then your face will be radiant with His glory…and people around will see the difference.

In Him,

Rani John

Responses

  1. I love the encouragement in this, to spend that time with Him and how much it affects us and everyone around us when we do! God bless you Rani! deb

    • Deb,

      I think thats why people say that if you spend your early morning with the Lord…the rest of the day will be much better…Starting and ending the day on knees…

      God Bless,
      Rani

  2. Rani,
    Dear Sister, I completely agree, we show the master in all of our dealings and communications when we have been meeting with him. When he is absent or less in the forefront than normal, then other things will push to the front in His vacancy, things such as fear, worry, covetousness, lust, materialism, all clear signs God has moved to the rear of the elevator and needs to be brought back to the front to push all those others out. God Bless
    Jim

    • Jim,

      Yes…when He is vacant..or absent..then other things takes His place..and His glory is not reflected upon us and therefore we fail to carry around that glory to others…When we neglect and continue in that path….we end up in backsliding sometimes….because our focus has changed from God to the other things…

      God Bless,
      Rani

  3. Rani,

    One word…UNVEIL ME, OH LORD today!

    Amen

    • Yes…Gladwell…I pray that we will be able to see His glory everyday….

      God Bless,
      Rani

  4. Thanks Rani for the blessed thought. Let our life and actions reflect his glory. I want to spend more quality time with him

    • Thank you Sheena….Yes..I pray that I’ll be able to reflect His glory wherever I am …..

      God Bless,
      Rani

  5. Rani, So true. When we spend time with Him, it is reflected in our actions and our countenance. When we do not, it is our own sinful nature that takes over and is what the world sees. Lord, help me always take the time to spend with you so that I might reflect your glory throughout my day. Peace, Linda

    • Linda,

      Its so easy for us to go back to our sinful nature…..It takes effort from our side to focus on Him alone…and communion with Him is just one among them…

      Blessings,
      Rani


Leave a Reply

Categories

