Posted by: springsinthedesert | April 19, 2010

A Worship That Pleases God

“Hear, O Israel: The LORD our God, the LORD is one! You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your strength.

                 Deuteronomy 6:4-5

For today’s devotion, my heart was leaning towards another topic that God laid on my heart the other day. But, when I prayed for God’s guidance in this matter, I felt Him directing me to this thought which I was rather skeptical to write about. God led me to Genesis chapter 4, where we see Abel and Cain’s offering towards God. I was reluctant to write about this sensitive matter because there are no clear cut explanations as to why God rejected Cain’s sacrifice and accepted his brother, Abel’s sacrifice. For the past few days, because I have been thinking about the topic of worship and all our casual conversations were more about that, I felt the assurance that God wanted to clearly explain the true worship which pleases Him.

If you carefully read the first few verses of Genesis chapter 4, we see that Cain, the first born of Adam and Eve, was the tiller of the ground while his brother Abel was a keeper of sheep. And in the process of time, Cain brought an offering of the fruit of the ground to the Lord and Abel brought the first born of his flock and of their fat.And the LORD respected Abel and his offering, but He did not respect Cain and his offering. And Cain was very angry, and his countenance fell. Cain, in his anger went out to the field and killed his brother.

Now, why do you think that God did not accept Cain’s offering? Though there are no clear explanations mentioned in the bible, there are lot of speculations in this matter and I would like to mention few of them. And I encourage you to let me know your own thoughts about this.

IF you look at both Cain and Abel, they both followed different professions in life…but we can never say that God was pleased in one because of their profession. They both had the desire to worship the Lord..so in due time, they both decided to bring an offering to the Lord from their labor. They both worked hard and they both had the desire to offer thanksgiving to the Lord as a sacrifice…Well and good.Then what was different in their sacrifices?  One conclusion is that, Bible just says that Cain brought his fruits of the land but Abel produced his firstborn of his flocks as well as their fattest one. Abel took the careful effort to choose the best and the first born for the Lord while Cain just collected some of his labor…not his first fruits, for the sacrifice.

Another thought that came into my mind is that God was pleased in Abel, because he knew the heart of God. In the book of Leviticus, we read about different offerings, and among them, sin offering is considered to be the most desirable and pleasing sacrifice to the Lord, though it is mentioned that God accepts grain offerings too. And for the sin offering, the remission of sin is possible only by the shedding of blood. Even though the laws of Leviticus was not given to them at their time of worship, Abel could understand the heart of God in advance and do what pleased Him.

In the book of Hebrews 11:4 we read, “By faith Abel offered to God a more excellent sacrifice than Cain,….”What do you understand by that? Abel offered the sacrifice in faith…and could see in his faith what pleased God. He was ready to offer whatever that pleased God rather than offering something in his own views and judgments that would satisfy Him. But Cain offered his sacrifice in sight…or in other words…his works were backed up by his own views and speculations about God and what pleased Him.

How is our worship towards God? I’m not talking about our Sunday worship…rather your life as a living sacrifice towards God. In that sacrifice…do you offer your best..your firstborn for God? Do you worship God with all of your strength, all of your mind and all of your soul? Do you know the heart of God? And do you offer the sacrifice that pleases Him? In our worship, let us offer God our best..in our attitude of worship, let God be the first and the important priority of our lives. Let us seek the heart of God and do exactly the way that pleases His heart in worship. And let us offer our sacrifices in faith instead of limiting God within our own views and understanding. Remember, in our worship, God looks at our attitude more than the sacrifice. So let us begin this week with the true worship and give God the glory that He deserves and offer our sacrifices unto Him with all we have.

God Bless,

Rani John

Responses

  1. Thank you Rani! God is confirming something in my life through this! I love it when that happens! God bless you! deb

    • Glad to know that God spoke to you through this devotion..
      God Bless,
      Rani

  2. Hi Rani,

    It is good that yours is the first post to read after a long week offline. It is amazing because my night was quite restless. I heard God speak these words in my heart…I AM LOOKING FOR WORSHIPPERS and when I read this, I know the article I will write before the week ends will be a timely word. Thank you for a beautiful illustration from Abel’s example and I would dare say…Abel’s blood still speaks to us even today!

    Blessings to you, my sister.

    Gladwell

    • Thank you Gladwell…For past few days, I have been thinking a lot about true worship and also how ready we should be to recieve our Lord Jesus Christ..When I read your post today, I understood that God had put the same series of thoughts in many others…I think that is what Holy Spirit wants to talk to us today..

      God Bless,
      Rani

  3. Rani,
    I am really glad you chose this topic to write about. I agree fully that Cain’s safrifice wasn’t his first fruits, and Abel’s were, and that is why Abel was set apart from Cain. When sacrificing, there are a few things to consider. Is this my best sacrifice, what is the state of my heart as I give, am I giving what “I” consider to be the minimum acceptable sacrifice, which would lead back to the heart. God Bless
    Jim

    • Jim,

      I’m glad that I listened to Him…And I loved what you said about the sacrifice…strong words in a nutshell…Everytime we are before God offering a sacrifice…we need to check..is this my best..Thank you Jim..

      God Bless,
      Rani

  4. Rani, I picture Cain as giving to God that which he thought he could spare, what was left over after he took what he wanted or thought he needed for himself before giving his offering to God. Abel, on the other hand, took the best and gave it to God, trusting that there was be sufficient left for his own needs. For me this story is all about an attitude of trust in the goodness of God. Peace, Linda

    • Linda,

      Thank you so much for your insight in this topic…I thank God for all my fellow bloggers who are a great infleunce in my life.

      God Bless,
      Rani


Leave a Reply

Categories

