Posted by: springsinthedesert | April 8, 2010

Exercise For Spiritual Fitness

For bodily exercise profits a little, but godliness is profitable for all things, having promise of the life that now is and of that which is to come.

             1 Timothy 4:7-8

For past few months, I have been looking at the mirror and not liking the figure that I see there. Nowadays, I do not spend much  time in front of the mirror because it worries me. After my daughter was born, I had gained a lot of pounds. Couple of years back I joined a gym and had successfully reduced a lot of weight..But then I had to go through a miscarriage and once again gained all those weight that I painfully reduced.

I have been coaxing my husband to get one treadmill for us and finally after many long weeks of research, he got one. Now we both can stay fit at the comforts of our home. My husband jokingly tells me that I have lost pounds just by looking at the treadmill..In a way, what he says is true..just to know that I can do my exercise anytime without going out takes that extra weight off my mind..Now why am I saying all this? The other day, while walking on my treadmill, God silently asked me a question..If exercise is so needed to keep your physique fit, then how important is your spiritual fitness? What do you do to keep it fit?

exercise

That question kept on pondering in my mind and hence resulted in this devotion. Why is it so easy for us to care for our physical fitness while we completely forget about our spiritual wellness. I think that it is because we see results in physical form..You can weigh yourself and see the difference. You can see that your exercise worked out when you see yourself fitting into your old pair of favorite jeans ..but how about Spiritual fitness..its a rather slow process…not very easy to tangibly feel the difference. That does not mean that spiritual fitness is not that rewarding. From the above key verse we understand that when bodily exercise profits a little, spiritual fitness equips us for our life in this world and for eternity..and how lightly do we take spiritual wellness?

Now how do we do that? To stay physically fit, first of all you need to realize the need for it. In the same way, we need to understand that we need help in our spiritual fitness. That realization alone will not help..we need to join some kind of enrollment program..or some kind of routine workout plans. Similarly, we need to take a step of action to daily exercise ourselves to the fitness level that is expected from us..personal prayer times, meditation hours with the word of God, reading Christian books, listening to music and sermons, sharing the word to someone, helping out somebody who is in need..like that a small workout routine is to be followed..The workout plan might be different for different people.

The other day, I read somewhere that our body easily gets accustomed to one kind of workout pattern and so we need to challenge our body with new patterns..Thinking about it, it is so true in our spiritual life too..When you are so accustomed to the routine, it does not benefit your soul in anyway..You need to offer new challenges every now and then so that our soul grows in Him.

Having a workout pattern does not mean that we can eat anything and everything that comes around. We need to eat right to stay fit..It is the same in our spiritual lives too..The Word of God provides the greatest nourishment you need to make you spiritually fit. It gives us the spiritual strength to handle what we face in this world and also benefit us in our eternal life. What have you been feeding your soul lately?

Persistence to stay on the workout plan is very important to see the expected results soon.  God expects you to remain faithful in that exercise plan for your spiritual fitness. Satan will try hundred ways to tempt you and to get you out of that exercise routine. He will offer sugar sprinkled cup cakes…sweet pies and also irresistible cheesecakes…but beware of his temptations and stay focused on your goal. He will tell you to skip your workout for one day, He will tell you,  “after all, only one day right? No harm done…And you deserve it after all those days of coarse workout”. Do not fall into his trap.

When you consistently exercise the things that God has asked you to do, slowly you will see changes happening in your soul…That extra fat of pride is gone…that uncontrollable anger is no longer visible, that feeling of hypocrisy is reduced considerably, filthy language has come down, anxiety, worry and fear …all these feelings are no longer that obvious…slowly you feel stronger, you feel more lively..more fit…You feel that you can run for the Lord…to anywhere and in  anytime.

Today, let us ask ourselves this question, Are we fit spiritually? Are you doing all you can to get in shape spiritually? We are a living sacrifice to our Lord..and our body is the temple of God…Are we taking care of our body as well as the soul within that body? Have you skipped the exercise for your soul today?

God Bless,

Rani John

Responses

  1. Rani dear,

    This one was meant for me today. I NEEDED to hear that assurance. To keep going…even when I can’t see the immediate results.

    You are a blessing to me…and many others out there!

    Gladwell

    • Thank you dear….God’s voice struck me like a sword that day when he asked me about spiritual fitness…Since we dont see any immdiate results..we just take the exercise so granted in our lives…I think I need to challenge myself more to different workout plans to keep my spirit fit..

      God Bless,
      Rani

  2. Hi Rani!

    I could easily relate to this message because my spiritual fitness is something that I struggle with on a daily basis. I have to admit that many times satan have been successful in keeping me from exercising my faith. This message have definitely inspired me to be persistent with my prayer life no matter what the circumstances are to see the expected results that I have been waiting for. I have to say that this blog has been a great blessing in my life. May God use you more and more for His glory.

    Nidhi

    • Nidhi,

      Thank you so much for your encouraging comments…I’m glad that this touched you…Yes, we take God’s things very lightly while we give more importance to everything else…I have done that many times in life…We dont mind skipping prayer to talk to a close friend over the phone…we think that God will be there to listen to us anytime we call…its so true that He is there with us…but that does not mean we should take our relationship with Him granted…Through this devotion God spoke to me….to correct my routine and feed my soul properly..

      God Bless you,
      Rani

  3. I love this one Rani. Wonderful illustration

    • Thank you Sheena…Its all His job…I was just his pen…Thats all.

      God Bless,
      Rani

  4. Excellent devotion! Yes, I need to keep my spirit fit! we exercise our bodies, we even take our cars to get a tune up or oil change, and our spirits need to be taken care of and exercized too! I think prayer, meditating and reading the word is what i need more of to keep spiritually fit. Amen Rani.
    Love,
    Desiree

    • Desiree,

      I love what you said about the cars….yes we go for oil change, servicing and car wash at the proper time…but how about our souls? Thank you for that additional insight..I think I need to spend more time with Him…Working for Him is totalliy different from spending time with Him…

      Prayers,
      Rani

  5. Simple analogy, illustration, but big meaning and impact. We “major” in “minor” and “minor” in “major”. Procastination to spiritual fitness is our weakness. Satan tells us ‘ yes, you have treadmill available at handy now, you can do exercise any time, but not now. You have a lot of other things to do now and you may exercise later.” Then exercise never happens and we get weaker. Yes, regularity and commitment is highly essential for spiritual fitness too as it is everlasting with profit and reward.
    God bless you Rani and may empower you with new spiritual edification to impart to others.

    • Yes…I have heard that lie of Satan many times…and I’m ashamed to say that I have fallen into his traps many times in life…but these days I think I need to change my workout plan a little bit…because now it has become a routine…and should work on it persistently…Do remeber me in your prayers

      God Bless,
      Rani

  6. Rani,
    Awesome message, being Spiritually fit does not happen accidentally. Having discipline in the same manner as with physically working out is necessary. I am easily distracted, but I know that, so there are things I MUST do to keep myself on track. I listen only to Christian music, read Bible daily, read blog encouragements, limit television to very little, and set aside time alone for prayer. I also know that for me, “idle hands are the devils workshop”, so I stay busy.
    I have to stay immersed in God or I will get off track
    Thanks Rani, God Bless
    Jim

    • Jim,
      Thank you so much…I love what you said…’Spiritual fitness does not happen accidently’…IT does not happen if you exercise once in a while…I think I know the workout plan…but commitment and persistence is what I need the most to reach my goals…

      I am a person who easily give up…so I think I should adopt your ways of staying immersed in God so that I will not get off track..

      God Bless,
      Rani

  7. I struggle with both spiritual fitness and physical fitness. I do believe that if I put a higher priority on my spiritual “workouts” it would result in being better able to achieve physical fitness. Thanks for the reminder.

    • Thank you Linda…When your soul is satisfied I think it will encourage us to care for our body too….
      God Bless,
      Rani

  8. Rani
    I found out about a year ago that I have high cholesterol and this was hereditary. I needed to control my diet, get some exercise, keep stress low and start medication and that’s when I started to work out. I’ve often managed to stay focussed on my workout regimes but it would slip during weekends and holidays and I found that I was often battling the bulge that I spent time and effort working off. This is the same with our spiritual life and you hit the nail on the exact spot! When we start walking faithfully with the Lord, our lives start to change and it is evident to all. However, when we slip here and there in spending time in His presence, we falter in our daily walk and that is glaringly obvious too! I love the way you used the concepts of a workout to relate to our walk with the Lord and I will certainly remember that. Thank you for your faithful service to the Lord!
    Vineet

    • Vineet,

      I agree with you hundred percent…When we fail in our spiritual life..it is so obvious…Even a small child in the family can see the difference…Walking on that treadmill, when God spoke to me about my spiritual fitness, I could not even dare to look at Him thinking about how far I have slipped…It was a wake up call for me. And I’m glad that it touched many..

      God Bless You and Yours,
      Rani

  9. Rani, your blog is indeed like cool water to our thirsty souls! Thank you for the great devotion on keeping spiritually fit! You are a blessing! deb

    • Debbie,

      Thank you for your kind words….I’m glad that there are many out there who shares the word of God through blogs…and I’m happy to read yours too..
      Together let us all work hard for the Kingdom of God..

      God Bless,
      Rani


Leave a Reply

Categories

