Posted by: springsinthedesert | April 2, 2010

On That Cross…He Thought About ME

But he was pierced for our transgressions, he was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was upon him, and by his wounds we are healed.

          Isaiah 53:5

Today, the world remembers the death and crucifixion of Jesus. When I was a child, I used to go to the Good Friday services at church with my parents. In every sense, people at church try to remember the pain and suffering that Jesus had to go through…the sermons, the songs, the service, the reverence of people everything was totally different on that day and I used to ask my mother, why is it called GOOD Friday, if its remembrance itself was such a painful and heartbreaking experience. Though my mother tried to make me understand that the goodness that God has done through His death for me is what makes it GOOD, I never understood the magnitude of it until the day I was saved.

On that day, God revealed to me the mystery of salvation and what cross has done in my life.  From that day onwards, I remember HIS death and resurrection, everyday of my life. Few months back, while partaking in the communion at church, God whispered to me, “What would you say, if I tell you that the last drop of my blood was shed for you and I was crushed so that you will be restored and build again”. I cried out loud and said, “Savior, what can I say, except to cry out at the foot of your cross…I’m humbled more to know that you shed your last drop of blood to save a wretch like me”. This conversation between me and my Lord made me think a lot about crucifixion and I hope this will remind you how much our Lord thought about us on His way to that terrible death.

Few hours before Jesus was arrested, He was at the garden of Gethsemane praying. We read that His soul was overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death…Though HE cried to take away the cup from Him, He surrendered to His Father’s will…He is the creator of this whole world and He was obedient to His Father even to death…Why? At that Garden, submitting to His Father’s will, He was thinking about me..

Though a legion of angels were ready at His service, He humbly listened to the crowd of people with swords and spears and was arrested so that the scriptures will be fulfilled. He did not use His authority and the rights of being the darling of Heaven…Why? He was thinking about me

That night when HE was painfully betrayed with a kiss from Judas and later , thrice disowned by his beloved disciple Peter, His heart was heavy and weighed down by the agony of unfaithful relationships, yet He remained silent so that He can provide a wonderful relationship to me through the salvation…At the night, when everyone, even the dearest one  deserted Him, HE was thinking about me…

In front of the High Priest, He was accused of blasphemy. They spit on His face, struck Him with their fist ,slapped Him and ridiculed Him without understanding His position as the HIGH PRIEST. Yet He painfully suffered the shame….Why? Thinking of me… 

Being a Righteous Judge himself, He was judged in front of Pontius Pilate and was exchanged with Barabbas, for crucifixion. He was given punishment while the wicked was released. The soldiers mocked Jesus, stripped Him and put Him a crown of thorns..yet HE remained silent so that He can give me the crown of glory…During that pain of rejection and shame of mockery…He was thinking of me

Isaiah 52:2 says, “He had no beauty or majesty to attract us to him, nothing in his appearance that we should desire him.”. The book of Revelation talks about His real majesty and glory…He was made unattractive and ‘nothing’ for me…so that I will be acceptable and glorious in His presence…He was thinking of me…

He was despised and rejected by men, he was pierced for our transgressions, he was crushed for our iniquities;He was oppressed and afflicted, yet he did not open his mouth;He remained silent like a lamb sent to the slaughter. He could have cried out about His torture or even claim His rights as the son of God..He remained like a sheep in silence…Was He thinking of me in that silence? At that moment when Father hid His face from Jesus, He was ready to still remain in that cross and shed that last drop of blood…because He saw my face and my life in sin. He suffered the cross and remained in that pain…thinking of me….

Oh..Lord, What will I do in return for all these mercy? You were thinking of me the whole time and I never knew that…Now, I want to think about you….I want to think about crucifixion everyday of my life, I want to think about loving you more, think about serving you every moment of my life…I need to think more ways to share this cross with others…For the rest of my life….I want to think more about YOU, MY LORD AND SAVIOR JESUS CHRIST.

                 I never know, How much it cost

                 To see my sins upon that cross

God Bless,

Rani John

Responses

  1. Thank you Rani. I am thinking…been thinking and will ever think about the Lord…

    Of His saving grace and glorious trimph over sin and the grave! And for that one act of courage by our Lord, I can call you, my sister eternal.

    Have a Blessed Good Friday!!!

    Gladwell

    • Thank you my sister…Have a wonderful weekend ahead..

      God Bless,
      Rani

  2. Oh man, Dear Sister,
    My heart is touched. As I rolled out of bed this morning and went into prayer, communion with him was stronger than usual, and it is usually strong. I pray that we will use this ressurection weekend not as a day to worship him more than usual, but to reach someone who does. God Bless sister.
    Jim

    • Thank you Jim, May God lead you to more wonderful expereinces of His communion ..so that you will be used mightily for His kingdom.

      God Bless,
      Rani

  3. Thank you Rani…This devotion made me cry and I am really touched. The Lord Jesus is so amazing, I just dont have the words to describe Him!
    I so love your devotions and love how the Holy Ghost writes through you.
    God bless you so much!
    Love
    Desiree

    • Thank you Desiree….Felt Holy Spirit really moving within me while I wrote this post…Yes, there are no words to describe our Jesus…I just pray that each day we will know him more and grow in Him.

      God Bless,
      Rani

  4. Rani, This is beautiful. I just add one thing – When He said, “Forgive them Father for they know not what they do,” he was thinking of me. He knew who I would be, what I would do, what I would think, how I would rebel, and He asked the Father to forgive me. Oh, blessed Redeemer! Peace, Linda

    • That was really great Linda…something which I forgot completely…thank you for adding that too..When He asked that prayer of forgiveness, He was thinking of me…Wow..

      God Bless,
      Rani


Leave a Reply

Categories

