Posted by: springsinthedesert | March 24, 2010

Have You Given Up On That Prayer???

Then he continued, "Do not be afraid, Daniel. Since the first day that you set your mind to gain understanding and to humble yourself before your God, your words were heard, and I have come in response to them.  But the prince of the Persian kingdom resisted me twenty-one days.

             Daniel 10:12-13

Looking back to this week’s devotion, I understand that I have been mentioning a lot about God’s promises and the waiting process. May be its because the Holy Spirit had been comforting me in these areas of my spiritual life. I know that, out there, someone else is also going through the same..and if I need to encourage them from the word of God, I have to  go through it first. How will I understand someone else’s pain if I have never been there? So there is no difference between you and me..just that I’m writing and you are reading..We all are comforted, instructed and encouraged by the Holy Spirit at the same time.

Today, while talking with my Lord about a request that I had been praying for quite a long time, God directed me to the above key verse. Let me explain the context of the verse a little bit. In Daniel chapter 9, we read Daniel praying for Israel…He is fasting and praying for the redemption of Jerusalem. Lying in sack clothes, he is not only confessing his sins but standing in the gap for all the people of Israel and pleading for God’s mercy in that matter. In the beginning of the next chapter, we read that an angel from heaven, Gabriel, appeared to him and said that his prayer has reached heaven on the first day itself…but the answer was delayed because the Prince of Persia resisted the angel for twenty one days.

Now, which is this first day? The day that Daniel realized that something is to be done from his side for the sake of Israel…the day he took the extra step in prayer…the day  he decided to humble before the Lord in dust and ashes…That first day itself, the prayer had reached heaven and the answer was sent forth from there….but it took long twenty one days to reach Daniel..What happened in between? An angel of Satan opposed the angel of heaven..Is it possible? If its recorded in the Bible…then I do not have any doubts about it.

I’m sure that the answer would have delayed more, if Daniel would have given up on his request after waiting for many days. Do you think that Daniel was fasting and praying in order to wrestle with God in receiving his answer? Daniel’s answer was already sent to him. While he fasted and prayed, he was breaking the enemy’s hold on his already answered prayer.

God’s opportunities are always satan’s oppositions. Satan tries to delay your answers and thereby frustrate you in your wait. His first intention is to decrease your trust in God. Then he tries to convince you that your prayer is denied from God’s side…slowly a feeling of unworthiness creeps into your heart…When you lose interest and take the matter casually, and try to settle in life without that answer that you have been longing for..then satan has won the battle. But if you decide to take your prayer to the next level and ask for it earnestly, everyday just like the first day you prayed…you will receive the answer even if heaven’s army has to fight for your sake.

Heaven’s mighty angels like Gabriel and Michael are ready to fight for you, if you are ready to be on your knees…Oh! what a privilege it is to be a child of God….There are many reasons for a delayed answer and one of them is the hindrance of Satan. He may hinder, but he can never stop you from receiving your answer. Gabriel said to Daniel..”The first day that you have decided….” What have you decided? Answer from heaven depends on your decision..If we have been praying once a day for that specific matter,let us decide to make it three times a day…If we have been fasting once a week, let us make it twice a week..let us decide to do something more..to humble more..to repent more..to pray more..to fast more…because when we do that, we are breaking the enemy’s hold on our package from heaven…our long waited answer from God.

God Bless,

Rani John

Responses

  1. Hi Rani!

    This message was definitely an encouragement for me. I have been going through an extremely difficult waiting period myself. I almost gave up on my prayers thinking that God is not going to answer me. Thank you for reminding me that this is not the time to walk away from God but to come closer to Him.

    • Nidhi,

      Thank you for your comments…I’m so happy that today’s devotion encouraged you in your walk with Jesus..When answers are delayed, our first reaction is to give up on prayer…But God wants to remind us that even if we dont see anything happening in favour of us…heaven is fighting for us while we are on our knees..

      Thank you for stopping by…
      God Bless,
      Rani John

  2. Amen. This reminds me of the scripture verse in Ephesians 6:16 In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the FLAMING ARROWS OF THE EVIL ONE. Faith keeps our prayer steadfast even when we cannot see the answer coming…in time.

    Thank you, Rani. Powerful devotion.

    Blessings as always,

    Gladwell

    • Gladwell,

      The evil one is roaming around us like a roaring lion…wanting to devour us…and one of his main tactic is to frustrate us in waiting…My prayer is that he will not succeed in his plan even for a second…If God has promised…He will do it…

      Let us patiently wait for Him
      God Bless,
      Rani

  3. Amen,

    Rani its so true, that God answered our prayers but we see the evidence later, that’s when we are in the waiting period. when we take out time in our live and sit in God’s presence and pray WE are breaking the holds of the evil one.
    The prayer of God’s child can shake the heavens.

    God bless and love you

    Smitha J

    • Yes Smitha…We have seen that from expereince right?? We need to break his yoke upon our inheritances..which God had promised..Let us walk in faith and claim our land

      God Bless,
      Rani

  4. Rani,
    I love this message, I feel as though is was written for me. I was really encouraged by this “make it three times a day…If we have been fasting once a week, let us make it twice a week..let us decide to do something more..to humble more..to repent more..to pray more..to fast more” The evil one is roaming among us, and our time is nigh, constant connection with God is essential to all followers.
    Thank you, God bless
    Jim
    PS-Is little girl better?

    • Thank you Jim…Satan is roaming around trying to find out someone…He comes out with new techniques…We should be really vigilant to avoid his plans on us…

      God Bless you and your family

      My little one is better…Thanks again
      Rani

  5. I love that verse in Daniel. It has been awhile since I was in the book of Daniel, and even when I last read it this thought about it did not occur to me. There are some prayers that I have given up on, but this post reminds me to bring them back to God and not to give up waiting for the Host of Heaven to win the battle to bring me the answer. Thanks.

  6. Thank you for your post…Wow 30,652 hits …Very encouraging ! keep coming !
    I circulate to all my friends….Walk with the LORD is Not Easy path …But His grace is Wonderful ! God delays is part of His Process to make us Patience…We all wanted Fast , Fast ….But No God ways are much higher and His Thoughts are not Our Thoughts !Praying for salvation of Loved Ones and healing of relationship …it takes YEARS !! Sometimes I do questions God ! and spin to doubts…but then as We recalled the Goodness he had done on the CRoss, and the past of Eygpt…you know We have a Great God that loves us…He trained us to wait upon HIM…Waiting is NOt Easy..based on what I heard….Waiting ….then Great Blessings come….God tests us to check on our faith and trust in HIM…His timing is not too late or not too soon…He is in for something great …He wants to do a deeper works in us to get us to where he wants us to be….Thanks you the post ! Becareful The devil wants to always sidetrack us and pull us , disconnect us from God….and His faithfulness..
    I discovered your sites only today ! Thank you LORD. Keep praising God in your waiting period…so your inner souls get strengthen….Thanks Great post !from Singapore .


Leave a Reply

Categories

