Posted by: springsinthedesert | March 15, 2010

Let Your Focus Be Jesus And Not Your Problems

The LORD said to Samuel, “How long will you mourn for Saul, since I have rejected him as king over Israel? Fill your horn with oil and be on your way; I am sending you to Jesse of Bethlehem. I have chosen one of his sons to be king.”

       1 Samuel 16:1

Few months back, when I had to pass through a difficult situation in life, I asked Lord  “Why me?”..I had many doubts and questions to ask God and HE patiently listened to everything I asked and comforted me saying…”You’ll know the reason in its time”…But the more I thought and worried about it, the more I was confused about the reason. Then one day God said, “Stop worrying too much..and look up..Let your focus be Jesus and not your problem. The worries of your past will not let you see the anointing that is ahead of you. Now is the time to ask God for more and be used for many”. Though I did not know exactly what HE meant, I decided to put my eyes on Jesus alone. And as soon as I made that step, I saw God revealing His purpose and the anointing ahead.

I have never read the above verse before..or may be the words did not touch me before like it did the other day. “How long will you mourn for saul?”..It pierced to my heart like a sword. Samuel, the prophet was asked to anoint Saul as the first King..Saul was chosen by God. So Samuel anointed him and announced to the people of Israel that God has chosen Saul to be the king..But after he came into Kingship, Saul did many things that worried the heart of God..He disobeyed Him and could not meet the expectations of God. Finally he was disqualified from the position that he was given. Samuel had a great part in mentoring Saul and when he disobeyed God, he had to withdraw from his responsibility towards Saul. But for many years, Samuel mourned for Saul…mourned for his disobedience..worried about his bad choices.

At the beginning of the 16th chapter, God said to Samuel, “Enough is enough…How long will you mourn for Saul?..Saul is the past. but there is a future..and that is David..a man of God’s own heart. You cannot just worry about Saul too much..because you have an anointing to be done..so fill up your horn with oil and be on your way…you have a place to go”

Do you have a Saul in your life that you mourn everyday? Saul represents your past..May be your past failures..your disobediences..your bad choices..your past heartaches..past relationships and misunderstandings…Everything that makes you think..”If only, I would have done it better”…”if only, I should not have made that decision…All that represents ‘Saul’ in your life. Are you still worried about your past? God wants to tell you that He has chosen you for a purpose..not to be in that state and worry about everything that went wrong..You have an anointing ahead..If you continue worrying about your past, you will not be able to fill up the horn of oil. Mourning over the past will not let you receive the fullness of His anointing…It will not let you move forward to the purpose of God’s own heart.

Between Saul and David, Samuel had to take the decision to stop worrying about one and start moving forward for the other…In the same way, God expects us to take the decision to stop living in the past, take the further step of filling up the Holy Spirit that we lack and move forward to the new thing that God is going to do in our lives…Future is revealed only when you decide to walk in faith..God is going to do a new thing and its according to God’s own heart..You will see the beauty of it once you start experiencing it…God may not reveal His whole purpose when you start your journey to anointing ahead, but you will know His choice in the right time.

So my dear child of God, enough of that..change your focus to God..Ask Him to fill you with the Holy Spirit that you need the most for the task ahead..Because God will not always let you to be a failure..Your future is a blessing..something which is pleasing to God. And that’s the reason why you are anointed. God will only show you the direction ahead..its your decision to choose the way or not. If you listen to God’s whisper and obey Him at the right time, you will see a beautiful purpose ahead..

God Bless,

Rani John


Responses

  1. Rani…I can only tell you how AMAZED I am about God. This Saturday, the Lord put these word in my heart after an uncomfortable conversation with a friend. “DO NOT LET HISTORY DICTATE YOUR FUTURE.’ In other words….you have explained it in details what the Lord wanted me to know. Your words are just the confirmation. Some day, I will get to write on that topic. I am so glad and thankful to Him.

    YOU ARE A BLESSING…and God has mighty things in store for you!!!

    Love and hugs,

    Gladwell

    • Thank you sister…Holy Spirit confirms the things that He has spoken to us through many ways…and I’m happy that He has used this post to do so..

      God Bless,
      Rani John

  2. Thank you for speaking to me! I have been living with some serious baggage from the past and unable to get it off my back even though the Lord wants me to move forward. Your message today just sparked open my eyes to what the Lord has been saying to me so long. Thank you and God bless you for obediently following his calling. You are such a blessing to me!
    Vineet

    • Vineet,

      Thank you so much for your comments….I’m happy that God has touched you through this devotion…

      God Bless,
      Rani

  3. Another anointed teaching and great insight! I really do love reading your blog, it really touches my heart because each day, there is something there for me! Jer 29: 11-14 came to my mind as I was reading this. God has plans for us!

    God bless you Rani!
    love,
    Desiree

    • Desiree,

      Thank you for reading…Yes, God has wonderful plans for us…And the anointing is ahead..Walk in faith and you will recieve it.

      God Bless,
      Rani

  4. Amen to that , yes we need to go forward….
    and claim the anointing ..god bless u rani for the insight …

    • Yes..We need to forget about the past and move forward…You will see plans according to God’s own heart ahead…

      God Bless,
      Rani

  5. I was searching on the phrase “fill up your horn”; and found your page. I help people start a radioblog, if they have a desire to use radio for outreach. There is no cost for my support.


Leave a comment

Categories