Posted by: springsinthedesert | March 3, 2010

He Is Mighty To Save You

I will give them praise and honor in every land where they were put to shame.

        Zephaniah 3:19

Last Sunday, while going to church, God gave me a scripture, Zephaniah 3:14-20. Since I was in the car on the way to church, I did not get much time to meditate on those verses. But the above key verse jumped upon me and I felt God giving me an assurance of His everlasting relationship with me. I felt a new hope which said, “Everything is going to be different, Things are going to change for better”. I’m not sure what is going to be different, may be the situations that I face will be still the same. But I’m so confident of one thing, that my relationship with my Lord is going to change… I’m going to be more closer to Him, more mature in Him, more loved by Him. Something tells me that I will be facing many situations in which more of me will be dying everyday so that Jesus can be manifested more in my life.

I would like you to read Zephaniah 3:14-20 so that you will also be able to understand that new hope which I was talking to you about. Though it talks about the future hope of Jerusalem, it gives the same hope to us who are the new Jerusalem. Reading those verses, we are able to understand a future hope and at the same time an underlying current condition of Jerusalem. From the verses, 15, 16, 18 and 19, we see that the people are oppressed by the enemy and they are under a period of punishment. Their current condition is shame and discouragement. The sorrows of life has become a burden and reproach to them. But God promised them a new hope.

Through Zephaniah, He is saying that things are going to change for better. He is going to save them from their enemy, remove their punishment and gather them from wherever they are scattered. God is going to give them praise and honor instead of shame. He is going to restore their fortunes before their very own eyes. He is giving that same promise to you and me. We might be oppressed by the enemy and troubled by the burdens of life. Our current condition might be shame and discouraged. The enemy might have looted us and taken away our inheritance and deprived us from our joy, peace, love, and the simplicity of life. We are put to shame at different lands. Which is that land where you are put to shame? Your career, family life, spiritual life, your sickbed, life as a parent…??? Where exactly do you face discouragement, oppression, fear and loneliness? God wants to let you know that you will be gathered from there…from those lands where you were scattered to…from those lands where you were subjected to shame and loneliness. And He wants to give you a new position in Him. He wants to offer you the warmth of a new relationship with Him. He says in verse 17,

“The LORD your God is with you, he is mighty to save.
 He will take great delight in you,
 He will quiet you with his love,
 He will rejoice over you with singing.”

When I first read this verse, I felt the warmth of His love, I found myself like a small child in the lap of God. Just like a father takes delight in his child, I felt God’s arms around me, hugging me, and quieting me with His love. As though God was rejoicing over me with a lullaby. I felt safe in Him. He is mighty to save me from all those shameful lands where I was defeated. And He provides me a safe and secure place in Him. Not only that, God gave me praise and honor instead of the shame that I have experienced so far in my life. He restored my inheritance which were taken away from me.

Today, if you are thinking that you cannot be saved from the land you are in..the land you were dragged to..the land to which you were taken captive…, Holy spirit wants to remind you that there is a God who is mighty to save. He alone can trade you shame with praise and honor. Only He can return your lost fortunes. So trust in Him. IF you do, you are going to experience a new relationship with Him. Nothing can take you away from His embrace. Let Him quiet your sobs with His tender love. Let Him soothe you with His lullaby. And today, I want to be there more than anywhere else…in God’s lap.

Let this famous song  encourage you. ..He Is Mighty To Save.

God Bless,

Rani John

Responses

  1. Amen. He is MIGHTY TO SAVE, OH, He’s singing over me for I am the apple His eye, a royal diadem in His hand…

    Beautiful words…to rout the enemy who has stolen our Godly inheritance. Thank you, Rani

    God bless you!!!!

  2. This is another beautiful devotion. I really feel that the Lord speaks to me so personally through your devotions.
    God bless you!

  3. Thank you for such a wonderful exhortation of God’s word. It is reassuring to know that brothers and sisters in Christ feel the same way about God’s desire for us, to hold us in his loving embrace. We have a hope beyond all hopes of spending eternity in God’s presence and that surpasses our daily issues and challenges in this mortal life. Thank you for the kind and loving reminder and God bless you as you continue to serve him in humility.

  4. Thank You All. Our God is mighty to save us from all our earthly afflictions…At the same time, He is concerned about our relationship with Him.

    God Bless You All,
    Rani John

  5. that was superb.the bible said that we can do all things through him that strenghtens us.the most important thing in this life is after our struggles in this life we will make heaven.i pray that God gives us the grace to wear the crown of glory at last. amen

    • Thank you for your kind comments…I’m happy that you stopped by..
      God Bless
      Rani John


Leave a Reply

Categories

