Posted by: springsinthedesert | February 25, 2010

You Are Hand-Picked By God…And So Special

For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place.When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.

          Psalms 139:13-16

My daughter has a beautiful flower pyjama which says ‘hand-picked’ on its top. I love to see her in that PJ and I often tell her that she is truly ‘Hand picked’ by God. Though she may not understand it completely right now, I always want her to know that she is important to us and especially to God. I was reading a book today and came across a sentence which said ‘You are hand-picked by God’. Suddenly the spirit within told me that many of us need to hear that and I felt the urge to write about it in todays’ devotion.

What do you mean by ‘Hand picked’? It means ‘Carefully selected’ or ‘Chosen for a purpose in preference to another’. During valentine’s day, I remember seeing an Ad which said ‘Flower bouquet, hand-picked especially for your loved one’. It means that each flower in that bouquet is carefully selected by the florist. He sees the bouquet in mind and plucks some fully bloomed flowers and some buds. He carefully looks for various sizes to fit the group perfectly. He looks for the ones that is beautiful and has a wonderful smell. Though he does not see the person who receives the bouquet, he wants the receiver to enjoy the flowers and bring out the best emotions in her. If you ask, each flower in that bouquet, they will say..”I was hand-picked and my purpose was to bring happiness to the one who received me’.

In our busy lives of shuffling jobs and family, we often forget that we are chosen for a purpose. We forget that we are carefully hand-picked by God and placed in our circumstances for a special reason. We do not realise our value and what we are worth until God reveals that truth to us. God designed you to be a person who you are for a purpose. You are unique and special. God do not see your same potential in anybody else. We are valuable because we belong to Him. So today, if anybody or any circumstances of life are making you believe that you are worthless, I encourage you to remind yourself that ‘You are handpicked’.

Your purpose may be to influence someone around you..to encourage someone who is in need, to direct that one person to Jesus…it might be your husband, your child, you relative or even someone you meet on the road. We never know whom we are influencing in our life until we reach heaven. So let us consider each day to be ‘The Day’ that we meet our purpose. Our church pastor often says “When you do something for the Lord, give it your best…as though tomorrow is not yours’. The other day, I read an article that talked about John Osteen’s faith. In 1939, in a small East Texas town, there lived a young man named Sam Martin. Every day morning when he goes to high school, he will write scriptures on the chalkboard. Though other kids thought that he was weird and did not associate with him much, he continued expressing his faith silently on that chalkboard. One night, one of his classmates, while returning from the night club, was touched by the love of God. He began to think about the eternity and the outcome of his life. This young man went home and opened his family bible randomly and came across a verse which said “If anyone will open the door, I will come in”. He was reminded of all the verses that Sam wrote on the chalkboard. He approached Sam the next day and asked, “Sam, why do you think I am feeling this way?” Sam replied very simply, “that is God drawing you.” . Sam took this young man to church that Sunday and on that day, John Osteen, Joel Osteen’s father took the decision to follow Jesus and started his faith life. Sam went on to become a pastor, but he never preached to a crowd like John Osteen.

But I believe that his purpose was fulfilled on that day when John Osteen was saved. All of those days, he shamelessly wrote the bible verses on that chalkboard without considering the sarcasms of his friends paid off on that day when John Osteen turned to Jesus. It seems that fifty years later, Sam Martin wrote a book titled
“I Touched One, but He Touched Millions”.

You and me are hand picked to touch someone. We may not get a podium to preach to thousands…but atleast if we get to influence one..our purpose in life is fulfilled. We never know whether that one person is going to touch millions or not. Let us live this day as though tomorrow is not ours. Give our best to the Lord and to others. You alone can do it the way you do it. Like that Sam Martin, let us write the word of God on our chalkboard…may be through blogs, letters and even through our life…with the hope that atleast one will be influenced. If you are saying in your heart, “I’m not talented or I do not have the resources”, Holy spirit wants to encourage you with this verse…”I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me”. You are born into this world with God’s greatness. His life-giving breath is in you. Let nothing discourage you and make you feel unworthy. You are priceless…paid in full..You are worth Jesus’s life on that cross.

In Him,

Rani John

Responses

  1. Beautiful article, Rani. Reminds me of Abraham who was told he will be a father to many nations yet in reality…he had just one son. God’s mathematics…is still but a mystery for me.

    Thank you…God hand picked me to read this too!

    Love, Gladwell

  2. Amen to the article, yes we are all hand picked.

    thanks Rani.

  3. I read the last paragraph of this post and I want to thank you for it. I tend to get discouraged watching my blog stats, but thank you for reminding me the numbers don’t matter.

    Thank you also for your kind comment on my blog today. Do not be discouraged! Hold on to the promises God has given you and run with them! God bless,

  4. Thank You so much for your inspiring comments…Let us live each day to its best…according to what God has planned…

    Love
    Rani John

  5. I would like to read the book by Sam Martin, I Touched One, but He Touched Millions. I have been unsuccessful in finding it to buy. Can you help me? Is there somewhere to purchase this book?

    • Tina,

      I have not read this book either…I heard about this book from TV..and would love to read it…I think you may get it from Amazon or ebay…I would search for it and if I get any information, I would let you know…Thank you for visiting this blog…Hope this blog will be a blessing to you.

      Prayers,
      Rani


Leave a Reply

Categories

