Posted by: springsinthedesert | February 23, 2010

God Rewards Your Persistence In Prayer

And shall God not avenge His own elect who cry out day and night to Him, though He bears long with them?

            Luke 18:7

Last week, God had put a thought in my heart about spiritual leanness. The more I studied about it, the more impact it had on my heart. That thought was so strong that every time I prayed, this question came into my heart, “Am I praying for a request that will bring about a spiritual leanness in my soul?”. I was so conscious that I stopped praying for certain things which I used to pray day and night. But then, last sunday, while sitting in church, God made a clarification in my heart and I would like to share that with you.

God clarified two conflicting thoughts in my mind..He said, “My child, being adamant in a specific desire of yours is totally different from being persistent in a prayer request”. At first, I did not understand much of a difference in those two, but later when He started explaining them, I felt that how foolish I would be, if I stopped praying to God about certain things thinking that I’m being so adamant in that. Did I confuse you? Let me explain.

In Luke chapter 18, Jesus said a parable about a persistent widow to make us understand this. The writer even specifies the reason for that parable. At the beginning of the chapter we read that “Then He spoke a parable to them, that men always ought to pray and not lose heart”. So there is a chance that we lose heart in our prayer life. In other words, there may be prayer requests in our life that are not answered yet and that make us lose hope and stop praying. Jesus saw that in advance and shared that parable with us. Here we see a widow, who persistently approaches an unjust judge who did not fear God nor regard men. I wonder what kind of a judge he would be if he did not have the fear of God or the love towards men. Yet this widow went to him everyday because she was so sure that justice was on her side. That was the key factor about this parable. Though the bible does not mention about it, I believe that this widow might have been a God-fearing woman who stood for the truth and justice. She knew for sure that she deserves the justice and so was not reluctant in her persistence.I love to read the Judge’s reply..”Though I do not fear God nor regard man, yet because this widow troubles me I will avenge her, lest by her continual coming she weary me.’” Did you notice the words..”Continual coming”?. God used those words to explain a truth to me. He said..”Continual coming is not being adamant..its just being persistent..It is so because the widow knew for sure that she had the right for the justice she was pleading for”. Are you persistent or adament in your prayers?

Now, let me explain what is to be adamant in your requests. God promised Abraham and Sarah that He will bless them with a son. They had to wait long 25 years to receive that promise. During that long wait, I’m sure that Sarah might have prayed to God day and night to see a fruitful womb. Her desire for a child was so strong and thats quite natural. She wanted to see the giggles of her child, experience the joy of raising her own offspring. But that strong desire came in between God’s plan and promise.Instead of waiting for His perfect time, Sarah gave God her own options and ideas of having a child through the maid servant Hagar, which was not what God had planned for Abraham. Thats being so adamant in her desire. She wanted it and wanted in now. Sarah could not wait for God’s timing.

Another example is when the Israelites asked for the food of Egypt; the leek, onion, garlic and fish that they craved for. They were bored of manna. But manna was the heavenly provision suitable for God’s people when taken into consideration the weather, the heat and the long years in the wilderness. But they were adamant in their request. They asked for options..gave God ideas..God did grant their requests, but sent leanness in their soul too.

You might ask, “How will I know whether I’m being adamant or persistent in asking God?”. It is quite natural for Sarah to desire for a child..And if you look at the Egyptians…it is quite common that people will get bored with the same food. But their desire started overflowing in their mind that they started giving God options, instead of waiting for His will and time. And that shows you are adament. When you want something so bad and when you want it right now no matter what..its being adament. On the contrary, being persistent is when you know for sure the heart of God..and you are in that waiting process for His perfect will to be done in your life in His perfect time. But since you know for certain that the desire of your heart and the will of God is in tune with each other, you have the boldness to approach the throne daily..day and night..with that request of yours. That is persistence.

Today, like that widow, if you are sure about your rights, if you are certain about God’s will in your life, and you know that God has promised you something in that matter…then please do not lose hope in your prayer. ‘Continual coming’ before the throne of God ends in great reward. Our judge is faithful and righteous. He will not withhold His justice from you seeing your persistence. At the same time, avoid being adament in your requests. Check whether your prayer request have ideas and options that you offer God rather than submitting to His will and waiting for His time. The difference between these two nature is just a thin line..but the results are totally different like day and night.

In Him,

Rani John

Responses

  1. This is an interesting topic, Wow, but i don’t really got it, but i will be study bible by myself. Wow.

  2. Amen. Years ago, the Lord spoke to me about the same subject. He called it INSISTENT PRAYERS VERSUS PERSISTENT PRAYERS. You see, one has to persist over something which first originated from God. Insistent on the other hand, it say your way is right and you are willing to bear the consequences.

    Your messages are a blessings to me.

    Love,

    Gladwell

  3. Great message. I love the parable of the widow. This just encouraged me to continue praying and petitioning until the Lord moves on my behalf.

  4. This site is an enriching and full with inspiration words of God.

    • Thank you so much for visiting…Hope this blog will be a blessing to you in your walk with Jesus..

      God Bless,
      Rani

  5. i thank God for coming accross this site av indeed been blessed by the sermon. am persisting in prayer trusting God for a child. for sure the Lord is faithful and true to his word, he is not slack concerning his promises. God bless you as you reach many with the gospel of Jesus. liz


Leave a Reply

Categories

