Posted by: springsinthedesert | February 12, 2010

Why Do You Love Jesus?

My God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation. He is my stronghold, my refuge and my savior.

    2 Samuel 22:3

The other day, me and my husband were watching a program on discovery channel which showed the miracle landing of US Airways Flight 1549 in the Hudson river. They talked about the first few minutes of the flight, the panic in the cockpit, the feelings of the passengers before the landing and their relief after they realized that they were all saved. Some of the passengers were describing their emotions just before the crash. The surprising thing that I noticed from all of them was that they all took the time to pray in that last moment. One of them specifically said that she asked God to forgive her for all her sins. They all agreed that on January 15th of 2009, they were given a second chance to live their dream life, which they thought was going to end in a tragedy.

Recently, a thought kept troubling me for many days….Who is Jesus to me? What is the reason for my love towards Him? Is it because of the things He has given me in this world? Or is it because of the eternal life He has offered me through the cross and the salvation?If you ask anyone who was saved from an accident like the one mentioned above, he would say, “I love Jesus because he saved me from death”. I’m sure that all of us has a testimony to share….a story about how Jesus came into our lives. For some, it might have been through a life saving miracle, for some others it might have been through a healing….Our expereinces might be different and their intensities totally incomparable. But the truth is that, God used that experience to draw us to the cross and Jesus Christ. You and me start the relationship with Him with that experience. But our love towards Him should not be based only on that experience of ours, but it should be for what He has done on the cross for us. ..the salvation.

I have heard many saying, “I do not feel like loving God, because He has not given me anything that I longed for in life”. That might be true looking into consideration , all your negative circumstances in life. But if you truly understand the magnitude of His forgiveness through the cross, you will realize what a great thing He has done for you. Have you ever thought this question..Where would I have been today, if Jesus was not in my life? Do you know the burden of your unforgiven sins? We are able to face tomorrow, because He lives. You would not have experienced the unconditional love and the peace of God, if Jesus were not in your life. You would not have experienced the whisper and the guidance of the Holy Spirit, if He had not drawn you closer to the cross. Can you imagine the condition of your soul in that eternal fire, if you were not saved. The day you accepted Jesus Christ as your personal saviour, your destiny changed and your name is written in the book of life. Do you understand the magnitude of salvation?

In Luke 7, we read about a woman who washed Jesus feet with her tears and wiped his feet with her hair. The Pharisee who invited Jesus into his house saw this and could not understand why Jesus was not able to understand that this woman was a sinner. I love the illustration Jesus gives there to make the people understand the depth of forgiveness of sins.

  “Two men owed money to a certain moneylender. One owed him five hundred denarii, and the other fifty.Neither of them had the money to pay him back, so he canceled  the debts of both. Now which of them will love him more?”

   Simon replied, “I suppose the one who had the bigger debt canceled.”
   “You have judged correctly,” Jesus said.

 Then he turned toward the woman and said to Simon, “Do you see this woman? I came into your house. You did not give me any   water for my feet, but she wet my feet with her tears and wiped them with her hair. You did not give me a kiss, but this woman, from the time I entered, has not stopped kissing my feet. You did not put oil on my head, but she has poured perfume on my feet. Therefore, I tell you, her many sins have been forgiven—for she loved much. But he who has been forgiven little loves little.”

This woman was not at all worthy to come to Jesus. She herself knew the depths of her sins. But she very well knew who she has come to..He is her redeemer and saviour.When the world accused her, He accepted her and forgave her sins. The thorough knowledge of what Jesus has done for her in her spiritual life made her do the extraordinary things, which even Simon dared to do for Jesus. Being a woman, she did not even think about the cultural limitations she had, to come to Jesus..She didnot feel ashamed to wash his feet and wipe it with her hair, she was ready to anoint Him with the most expensive perfume she had..all because she knew the magnitude of His forgiveness towards her.

I do not know the description you have given Jesus in you life. He might have been a healer, a provider, a banner of victory or even a life giver to you. What if you lose everything in life like Job? Will you still love Him? So let us learn to love Him for what He has done for our soul. Let us love Him for the salvation. Let us love him for dying for us on the cross. We should have been there in that cross. He took our place and offered us eternal life with Him. I love the song which has the following words..

   I never know how much it cost
   To see my sins upon that cross

And that should be the reason for our love towards Him. Love Him because He is your only saviour and Redeemer. There is no greater love than the love on the cross.

In Love With Jesus,

Rani John

Leave a Reply

Categories

