Posted by: springsinthedesert | February 10, 2010

Keep Your Tongue From Evil

Whoever of you loves life and desires to see many good days, keep your tongue from evil  and your lips from speaking lies..

             Psalms 34: 12-13

Today’s devotion is more like a confession from me. God is teaching me to control my tongue for past few months. And I have been trying very hard to do so. There were many situations where I had to act totally different from my usual behaviour of exploding. Two of the hardest lessons that I have been learning from God are to ‘wait on the Lord’ and to “Tame my toungue’. And in both these lessons, I know that I have not perfected according to my master’s will. Not only that, I have failed many times in His tests. I hope that one day, I will receive a certificate from God which says “Successfully completed”. I’m not sure whether one can be perfect in taming his tongue, but at least I want to try to be more like Jesus.

Though I have not used my tongue to say bad words or to curse anyone, I have used it more often to judge others in their circumstances. I am not at all ashamed to discuss my shortcomings with you, because I feel that it is very important to speak the truth rather than being so saint like and spiritual. Another reason for bringing out such a devotional thought is because I think that our churches do not speak about such important topics anymore. The society we live in consider the sins of mouth less dangerous than other terrible sins like murder or adultery. But if you read Romans 1 : 28:32, we understand that such so called ‘less severe sins’ are included in the lists of other terrible sins and those who do them are susceptible to the same punishment and that is death. But how often do we take the words that go out of our mouth so lightly?

Today, I failed terribly in my test. I was not making up any lies about others, but I was judging them. And for some time, I felt that I lost the control over my tongue and blabbered everything without thinking. But I’m happy that God reminded me of my sin and gave me a chance to repent them. So my today’s meditation was regarding taming the tongue and so this devotion. Hope this would help you in your walk with Jesus.

Tongue is considered to be the most exercised muscle of our body. You will be really amazed if you count the number of words that come out of your mouth in a day. Out of that, how many of them are a blessing to you and others? As a christian, we need to discipline the tongue. If you are able to control that small part of your body, you will be succesful in controlling the rest of your body. Because tongue has the power to ruin your full body.

There are different kinds of tongues…fault-finding, judging, gossiping, hypocritical, discouraging, filthy-talking , trouble making and abusive tongues. Being a believer, it is our responsibility to bridle our tongue as it is said in James : 1:26, If anyone among you thinks he is religious, and does not bridle his tongue but deceives his own heart, this one’s religion is useless. Did you notice the word used here “Bridle”. It is a piece of equipment used to direct horses. A rider can control the horse with this bridle. In the same way, a child of God should ask the power of the Holy Spirit to bridle your tongue, so that we are always in control and also walking in His direction.

God hates when we show hypocrisy in our attitudes. Even though we do not pray like that Pharisee mentioned in Luke 18, we often think highly about ourselves….we consider ourselves much better than others. We use our mouth to curse others and continue with our relationship with Lord as though nothing has happened. It is true that we are human and mistakes happen in our lives too. But if the Holy spirit is not pricking our conscience, then there is something seriously wrong with our spiritual life.

 But no man can tame the tongue. It is an unruly evil, full of deadly poison. With it we bless our God and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in  the similitude of God. Out of the same mouth proceed blessing and cursing. My brethren, these things ought not to be so.( James 3:8-10)

 “What right do you have to use your mouth to declare my word and promises? You have used your mouth for evil and deceitfulness, to bad-mouth and slander your brethren” (psalms. 50:16-22).

Bible says that if we have iniquity in our heart, God will not listen to our prayers (Psalms 66:18). Iniquity can be any kind of sin. And a deceitful tongue is a sin. Do you think that many of our prayers are not answered because of unrepented sins in our lives? If that is true, then how seriously should we consider this matter? And I have heard that Satan often puts his claims on the words that come out of our mouth.So we are responsible for every careless and idle word that we speak, every foolish talk, every dirty jokes and also even the silly conversations.

 “But I say to you that for every idle word men may speak, they will give account of it in the day of judgment. For by your words you will be justified, and by your words you will be condemned” (Matt. 12:36-37).

 Benefits of controlling our tongue.

1) We can dwell in the presence of God

 “LORD, who may abide in Your tabernacle a Who may dwell in Your holy hill? He who walks uprightly, And works righteousness,   And speaks the truth in his heart; He who does not backbite with his tongue, Nor does evil to his neighbor, Nor does he take up a reproach against his friend” (Psa. 15:1-3).
 
2) God promises a blessed life ahead

 “Who is the man who desires life, And loves many days, that he may see good? Keep your tongue from evil, And your lips from speaking deceit” (Psa. 34:12-13).

3) We are free from many of the troubles

  “Whoever guards his mouth and tongue Keeps his soul from troubles” (Prov. 21:23).

So today, if you feel that this devotion has spoken to you, please take a minute to examine your life. See whether there are any sins of mouth that you have never repented to God. Do not be discouraged, thinking about your sins. God is full of mercy and grace and he is ready to forgive you the moment you repent. He hates to see you cover the sins with all the justifications. He is your creator and He knows you more than anybody else. Ask Him to fill you with your forgiveness and help you to control your tongue and your attitudes.

God Bless,

Rani John

Responses

  1. This is a great devotion! i have also had trouble with my tongue and am currently being delt with by the Holy Ghost on this very topic (among others!) God bless you!

  2. Dear Rani,
    Thanks for posting this one!!!!!!This is one subject I always pray for & find it very difficult to accomplish!!!!But ,am sure with the help of our Heavenly Father ,its possible.though may not be 100%,God bless,Mini.

  3. Thank you Desiree and Mini….I’m happy that God has touched you through this devotion. I struggle in this subject too…I believe that God will train us everyday until we reach the 100% mark set by Jesus.

    Rani John


Leave a Reply

Categories

