Posted by: springsinthedesert | February 9, 2010

Build The Ruins Of Your Altar

Then Elijah said to all the people, “Come here to me.” They came to him, and he repaired the altar of the LORD, which was in ruins.

       1 Kings 18:30

God had asked me to fast and pray for a specific matter today. And I had the earnest desire to see the deliverence of God in that matter. But after finishing all my chores in the morning, when I sat down for prayer, I could not concentrate much on that specific subject. All I did was just casually mention about it in my prayer. I felt really sad and asked Lord to help me really concentrate. “What suddenly happened in my prayer life?”, I wondered. Then I understood the fact behind it. I had taken lightly the day that God has asked me to fast and pray. I just came from the kitchen thinking I should pray about this particular thing and wanted to finish my prayer and continue with my other things in life. I’m not saying that you cannot pray as and when you please. That kind of prayer is rather a constant communication with the Lord..a chit chat with your saviour.  But for things that you really want to see the deliverance happen, you need to consider them seriously. Especially when you fast and pray for a thing, it is serious and you cannot take it light. So I felt that I need to prepare myself before sitting down to pray and spent some time with the Lord..talking to Him, reading my bible, meditating on the word of God and then when I sat down in prayer, I could feel the Holy Spirit moving in ways that I cannot express. And God did send his deliverance today.

Have you ever come across similar situation in life? Times when you felt that your prayer  just stays within your four walls. And there were days in which you prayed and you felt that the heavens had opened for you . What is the difference? IF you carefully examine, you will understand that it is nothing but your own preparation before God. And that is the subject of today’s devotion. And for that, I would like to concentrate on 1 Kings 18:16-39. Let me explain the context a little bit. Elijah is about to face a great challenge in his life..At Mt. Carmel, 400 of Baal’s prophets and Elijah is going to come against each other to see who is the living God. Just think about the ratio 400:1. They were supposed to cut a bull into pieces and shout for their own God and the God who responds to the prayer with fire was to be the true one. The prophets of Baal did everything and started shouting to Baal. Not for a couple of hours, but from morning till evening. And there were no response. Elijah did something different there. He noticed that the altar was in ruins. So he repaired the ruins of the altar, not according to his standards, but according to God’s will. God had mentioned the way of building the altar during the time of Moses and Elijah did everything just the way God had commanded.  Elijah took twelve stones, one for each of the tribes descended from Jacob, to whom the word of the LORD had come, saying, “Your name shall be Israel.”With the stones he built an altar in the name of the LORD, and he dug a trench around it large enough to hold two seahs of seed. He arranged the wood, cut the bull into pieces and laid it on the wood.  (verses 31-33)

What amazed me was that he also asked the people to pour four large jars of water on the altar. And they did that three times according to his instruction. Not only that the wood was drenched in water, the whole altar, even the trench he built was filled with water. And then Elijah prayed a simple prayer. Heaven opened and fire fell from heaven in response to his prayer. And the fire burned up the sacrifice, the wood, the stones and the soil, and also licked up the water in the trench. What do you think made the difference? The words he used in the prayer? Or the location of the sacrifice being Mt. Carmel? Or do you think that it was because of Elijah, the great prophet of God?

I believe that it was because Elijah, being a man of God, knew the heart of God and he built the ruins of the altar according to God’s commands. God will not withhold himself from any sacrifice, if its altar is built according to His standards. The stones of the altar should be laid in a specific manner, the wood on the altar need to be arranged and the bull needs to be cut accordingly. And when everything is set up right, even if the altar is drenched in water, fire will fall from heaven and consume everything.

Water and Fire do not go together. Water shows the impossibilities in your life. You think that there is no chance of a solution for that specific prayer request.  You do not see the fire of God coming on your all drenched prayer subject. You have lost hope and you fo not want to continue praying for that same old issue of yours. Remember, it was not the eloquence of Elijah’s prayer that caused the heavens to open. It was definitely not a result of a long two hour prayer that made the difference. Heaven responded to the exact preparation he made before his simple prayer.

Today, before sitting down to pray, ask Lord to show you the ruins of your altar. There might be unforgiven sins in our life that we need to repent to God. Some of us might be in a state of backsliding. There might be doubts in our lives. We may have missed the stones of God’s love. Its difficult for me to say about your ruins..because that is between you and your God. We all expect to see deliverance from God, but we forget to build our ruins. And sometimes, God allows certain infirmities in our lives to realise the ruins in our life…the stones of the altar that we lack. Every trouble that I have gone through has helped me understand my ruins and see the heaven’s standards. And when I have set right the will of God in my altar, heavens have opened and send fire as an answer to my prayers, even though they were drenched in impossibilities. God is not concerned about the number of jars of water that has drenched your altar. All that concerns him is your ruins. He wants to build you up and make you perfect according to His perfect will. Submit to Him today and build your ruins. Heaven is waiting for you to finish the repair. And in no time, you will see the fire, the deliverence of God.

In Him,

Rani John

Responses

  1. Amen. This is so powerful. Yes, its my prayer today that God will repair my ruins. I want to offer a worthy sacrifice of praise and thanksgiving to Him. Keep at it. I am extremely blessed by this.

    Blessings,

    Gladwell

  2. Thank you rani for the blessed devotion. It was for me. I need to prepare well before coming to God.I want to please him and spent more time in prayer.

  3. Thank you Sheena and Gladwell for your encouraging comments….I pray that all my ruins are repaired before I offer my worship to God.

    God Bless
    Rani John


Leave a Reply

Categories

