Posted by: springsinthedesert | December 14, 2009

Wait On The Lord..In Him Alone

Why do you say, O Jacob, And speak, O Israel: “ My way is hidden from the LORD, And my just claim is passed over by my God”?  Have you not known?  Have you not heard?  The everlasting God, the LORD, The Creator of the ends of the earth, Neither faints nor is weary. His understanding is unsearchable. ….. But those who wait on the LORD Shall renew their strength.

        Isaiah 40:27-31
The whole Sunday, God had been talking to me the same thing; through sermons, songs and also my personal meditation. And that is “To wait on the Lord”. You know what, He even told me how to do that..”In Quietness and trust”. May be God knew very well that I needed those thoughts to strengthen me to go forward. And whatever I receive from Him, I would like to share because I feel that there will be someone, somewhere going through a tough time and I believe that they need to hear it.

Is it possible to wait on the Lord? Without knowing till when? without understanding the reasons behind many things that happen with you? If it was not possible to wait on the Lord, Bible would not have mentioned it these many times. But it comes only with practise. You need to take an effort to wait on Lord. What is the meaning of wait? It means to look forward eagerly for something. It means that you are inactive for sometime until the expected thing happen. How can we relate that in our spiritual life? It means not to lean on what you see and be distracted by them. It means to focus and eagerly expect what God has promised you. Since He is the “Jehovah Jireh”, our provider, it is all sufficient to wait on Him. He will not let us down. Sometimes, we are separated from all our dependency factors, places from where you always expect comfort from. You know why? God wants to have all your dependency on Him. Him alone.

How often we get fed up in our long waits? You feel frustrated when you have to wait in traffic. When we are in line in a department store, we are easily troubled by the long wait. Same way, waiting on Lord can sometimes make you weary and in lack of strength. And that is the reason why He said, wait on the Lord and He shall renew your strength. Only God can do that for you. His word alone can make you comfortable and going. So whatever that you are waiting for …do not lose hope. You can wait on Him in every circumstances. May be people might change. Health may change to sickness, abundance to poverty, lot of relationships to loneliness. Whatever that happens, God is still the same and so it is worth waiting on Him…Him alone.

The second thing He taught me was to wait on the Lord in “quietness and trust”. But, how is it possible? In quietness? When a storm is raging within, is it possible to be still and know that God is in control? It is not always possible for me, to be true to my feelings. But I have tried and  am still trying. Sometimes, we feel like reasoning to God. Other times you show a kind of resistance towards Him. But these feelings will not bring any good on you. So Let us behave like David when he said “Lord, my heart is not proud; my eyes are not haughty. I don’t concern myself with matters too great or awesome for me. But I have stilled and quieted myself, just as a small child is quiet with its mother. Yes, like a small child is my soul within me.” Never think that to be quiet and still before the Lord shows your helplessness and weakness. It shows a great strength of yours which is the confidence in the Lord. So wait on Him in quietness…in Him alone.

Next thing that I learned about waiting is that; you can wait on Him for He will not deceive you. He will never lie. His words are true. Heaven and earth may pass away, but His words will remain forever.As our key verse says, He is a God who never faints nor is weary. We could never say, this thing happened to me, when God winked his eyes. He is not weary and tired to attend our matters. Some days, when I am extremely tired, I skip my routine of reading a bedtime story to my daughter. she understands and I’m happy about that. But our Lord will not skip even a single thing in our life saying He was tired. Even a strand of hair falling from your head is known by your God.No wonder He is worthy to be waited on..Him alone.

So today, Lets us wait on God. If we have lost hope and strength in waiting, God says, “I will renew your strength”. To be quiet and still, while a storm is raging against you, is your strength and confidence in God. For the Bible says so. “ In returning and rest you shall be saved; In quietness and confidence shall be your strength.” So Wait on the Lord..Him alone.

In Him,

Rani John

Leave a Reply

Categories

