Posted by: springsinthedesert | December 8, 2009

More Of Him…..Less Of Me

“As you therefore have received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk in Him, rooted and built up in Him and established in faith, as you have been taught, abounding in it with thanksgiving.”

 Colossians 2:7

I always listen to the family radio while I drive to my daughter’s school to pick her up. But for the past few months, I use that time to talk to my Lord. We speak many things in that short trip. I really enjoy that time with my Lord, as I can express who I am during that time. Inside my car’s privacy, I speak loud, sometimes cry about many troubling matters, some other times, ask Him many of my doubts and fears. Many times, I have felt that Jesus also enjoys that time with me. Today, while driving, I just switched on the radio, and Holy Spirit said to me…Switch it off and talk to me. I shared so many things with Jesus today. One important thing that I told Him was that I want to live this day for Christ. Though I have said that sentence many times before, today when I said that I really meant what I said. Somehow, the desire to live for Christ was so strong today. It is often said very easily, but to live for Him takes great effort from our side. And God taught me that, it can be achieved only with the help of the Holy Spirit. 

From the time I came back home, I started experiencing many difficult situations which made me forget the decision that I made today morning. As I reacted like any other human to such unexpected incidents, God whispered to me “Do not forget the decision you made today”. I said, “Lord, didn’t you see, the circumstances is so against me and I’m not able to completely live for Christ.” Then He said to me, “Child, it is always easy to live for me in favorable conditions, but to live for Him in the storms, is really difficult. You need to learn how to do that”. The whole day, I had to forcefully remind myself about the decision that I made. I had to weigh my thoughts and words to see whether it is pleasing to the Lord. Though I failed many times, Jesus kept speaking to me and strengthened me from within so that my flesh will die every time for Christ and He will live for me. 

This lesson that God taught me was based on Colossians chapter 3 and so I will request you to read the same. Verse 3 says, For you died and your life is hidden with Christ in Lord.  The day, you and me have accepted Jesus Christ as our savior and decided to follow Him, we have died to our flesh. Now, it is not me who is living, but Jesus. But many times we forget that fact and live just the way any other person lives.  If we look around, we see many Christians and believers trapped in drugs, crimes, theft and adultery. We often point fingers on them saying that “How could a priest’s son do that? How could that evangelist say such a big lie to others?” All these things happens in this world only because people do not consider this Christian life as an everyday business. They think that the day one is “born again”, all the changes on earth had happened to him and from then on, he has been given the license to do everything he wants. Some others think that a holy life is meant for the two hour church service on Sunday. That is where you and I have failed. It is a 24/7 commitment. Your Christian walk is an everyday walk. 

It is easy to live for Christ when everything is normal and peaceful. You sing songs, read bible, spent your time listening to sermons, spent that day thinking how to help others. But when there is a storm raging against you, living for Christ takes the good effort of dying yourself. It is not possible with your mere strength, but only with the help of the Holy Spirit. In Colossians we read in verse 8 , But now, you yourself has to put off all these, anger, wrath, malice, blasphemy, filthy language out of your mouth. These are the things of the flesh. We need to die to all these and put on the following things in Spirit. Therefore, as the elect of God, holy and beloved, put on tender mercies, kindness, humility, meekness and longsuffering. ….verse 12. From the above verses we understood that if there are five things for us to put on, there are five other things to put off. So when you kill a certain negative attribute of your life, Christ will give you another positive character for you to keep. 

From my today’s experience, God taught me the lesson that I need to remind myself who I am and what is my commitment towards God. It may not be possible in a day’s time. God will appreciate our earnest desire to live for Him and strengthen us when we feel that it is really difficult in a particular situation. Slowly and steadily He will make us perfect and make us mature like the Head, Jesus Christ. 

In Him,

Rani John

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

