Posted by: springsinthedesert | December 4, 2009

Do You Have A Bold Faith?

But without faith it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him.
             Hebrew 11:6
Today, as I was reading the Bible, I came across the passge in Mathew which read about the faith of the Centurion. It is read in Mathew 8 and the same incident is mentioned in Luke 7. We might have read that passage many times in life. A centurion had a great position in the Roman army. He was the commander of 100 men. Usually these men were considered to be slaves and their leader did not have any special care towrds his men. But this particular centurion was different. When one of his servant got sick, he took all the effort to provide healing for him. Usually if the leader finds out that a servant is sick, he will be thrown out of the group and the leader will take some one healthier. But this centurion had compassion and he went to Jesus on behalf of this sick man. Please read Mathew 8 and Luke 7 to understand the context more clearly.

Today’s devotion is actually an answer to my question. I have seen many people asking God everything very boldly in prayer. They show their boldness in faith. But most of the time, I have seen myself having just the obedient faith. Let me just explain the difference between this bold faith and obedient faith. Obedient faith is when you accept everything just the way it is. Bold faith is when you ask God boldly what you want and show Him the confidence in asking. Since this is Christman time, let me take an example. For christmas,  I’m planning to give my daughter a gift. she can have any gift I give her or she can boldly ask me before christmas, the specific gift she wants, and if it is in my plan, I will defenitely get her that. Did you understand the difference?

I’m not saying that obedient faith is not good for a christian. When Mary was promised to have a son without the human intervention, she obediently accepted the promise, without knowing how and when. God was well pleased with her submission to the will of God. God looks for obedience in a child of God for His will to be fulfilled in him or her. At the same time, He is greatly moved when you show the boldness in faith. That boldness in faith comes when you have that kind of personal relationship with God. My daughter will have the boldness to ask me for a specific gift for christmas, but my friend’s daughter will not have the same courage to ask for the same. What makes the difference? The relationship. Right?

Whenever I feel like asking something boldly to God, I will have this thought..After all, Jesus is my God and He knows everything. What if I ask something foolish? Today when I was debating on these thoughts and praying about it, God showed me this passage about the centurion. I have heard so much about his faith and wondered what new thing is He going to teach me from this. But He showed me my answer. The centurion was a gentile. He knew that a Jew if enters a gentile’s house, will be considered unclean. Though in very high status and designation, he did not consider himself worthy to invite Jesus into his house. But Jesus never considered that as a hindrance in visiting the centurion’s house. He said “I will come”. And that was Jesus’ will and plan…to go to centurion’s house. But this man is preventing Jesus from coming to his house. He said  “Lord, I am not worthy that You should come under my roof. But only speak a word, and my servant will be healed. For I also am a man under authority, having soldiers under me. And I say to this one, ‘Go,’ and he goes; and to another, ‘Come,’ and he comes; and to my servant, ‘Do this,’ and he does it.”

How would you react if you were in his shoes? Just imagine the master is saying “I will come”. If I were in his position , I might say,” IF Jesus has no problem coming to my house, who am i to prevent him. After all, he is Jesus, He knows what he is doing…and who am I to suggest God to say a word and heal my servant even if He has all the powers to do so..I have the faith that His mere words can heal the sickness, but will it be appropriate for me to say so?”

Remember, this centurion was not a disciple of Jesus. He might be a person who knew about Jesus from the miracles He did. If he had the boldness in faith to ask God to just say a word to heal his servant, how much more courage should we have? We claim ourselves to be the children of God right? It all depends on our personal relationship with God. One more thing that God taught me was that the centurion did not ask anything beyond God’s will. It was Jesus’ will to heal the man. The centurion asked the same thing, but a differnt way of healing. What he meant was that “Lord, you do not have to come to my house or touch him to be healed, I trust that if you say a word from here itself, he will be healed. The reason for this is because I do not consider myself to be worthy”. What a great faith! Jesus was moved by his faith and he recieved the greatest appreciation in the world. When Jesus heard it, He marveled, and said to those who followed, “Assuredly, I say to you, I have not found such great faith, not even in Israel!

If we know for sure what we ask, is in the will of God, He is pleased when we show a boldness in asking. He is moved by such great faith. Do you have that faith today? Think about this and ask God to reveal to you more thoughts on “Boldness In Faith”.

God Bless,

Rani John

Leave a Reply

Categories

