Posted by: springsinthedesert | September 30, 2010

Nothing Is Impossible For Our God

He performs wonders that cannot be fathomed, miracles that cannot be counted.

                      Job 5:9

Today, while sitting in a Bible study group, my mind was really burdened by the struggles people go through in life. For past few weeks, God had been leading me to different people and their circumstances which humanly speaking did not give any kind of hope, unless there was an intervention from God. The situations that they go through has not turned even a little bit towards promising and I struggled to assure them in faith that everything will turn out to be good. Though I believed in this God of miracles, I could see them struggling to understand God’s hand in these terrible situations of their lives.Its not that they do not believe in this God..its just that their situations has turned out to be worse and they could not see any hope in it.

All these thoughts were raging in my mind and I was pouring out my heart to HIM and pleading for them to be delivered soon before their faith just fades away. And then suddenly our pastor quoted someone and said these words, “ If you have considered any situation or anybody in your life as ‘hopeless’, its like slamming a door at JESUS”. Those words just hit me real hard. I asked myself, why is it so? Then I understood one thing, there is nothing impossible for our God and if we consider anybody or any situation as hopeless, it is as though we are limiting God from working in that matter…as though we are not trusting in the possibilities of a miracle working God. That gave me the greatest assurance that all these impossibilities in their lives are for a reason and that is an opportunity for a greater miracle.

Before writing today’s devotion, I was asking God to lead me to a thought that is related to what was in my mind and He led me to Job 42:1-6. Verse 3 really touched me…”You asked, ‘Who is this that obscures my counsel without knowledge?’ Surely I spoke of things I did not understand, things too wonderful for me to know.” In chapter 38, we read God asking the same question to Job, “"Who is this that darkens my counsel with words without knowledge?”…and here in that last chapter, Job is confessing that he has darkened and obscured the counsel of God without the clear knowledge of His plan for his life.

Many a times, we are like Job not able to understand God’s hand in our struggles. Due to the overwhelming situations that we go through, we fail to see this God who is able to do all things for good. We come into our own conclusions and limit God by saying, “I do not think anything is going to work out for me”. Just like Job we fail to see in faith the 42nd chapter of life which is waiting for us with  double folded blessings. Just because we do not see anything favorable happening around, we cannot say that God has stopped working for me.

Another verse that really touched my heart is verse 5, “My ears had heard of you 
but now my eyes have seen you.” I felt that in a way Job is saying, “All these years I have heard a lot about you…but at last in the middle of my struggles, I have seen you and that made all the difference…Till now you were just a knowledge…but after these painful days….you have become an experience in my life” And I believe that this one realization about God made Job repent in dust and ashes.

Do you understand the reason for you struggles? Jesus do not want you to have a mere knowledge about Him…He wants you to have an experience that is very personal with Him. Now, you might ask…How much more? Didn’t I know Him enough? That measurement is with God..and for each it might be different. He expects you to grow in Him every day…so that every time you know more about Him, you realize who you are in HIM and how great and holy He is in you.

God Bless,

Rani John

Responses

  1. Wow Rani. Jesus is using you in a very specific way, for us in hard situations who do not yet see the breakthrough and know the outcome. But each day (and each time you post) I find myself leaning into Him. It’s not over yet. I’m going to be praying for your mountains and mine, to move. :) love, deb

  2. Thanks for this posting. Today as I was sharing in our Bible study I was referring to Job 42:5. During my waiting period, I too have wondered whether I know this my God! Our God is beyond our imagination yet, whatever He has revealed to us is ours. He is an unchanging God and He is the same yesterday today and forever. The One who has performed the miracles in the past will do the same and even greater things today.
    May you be blessed Rani. With prayerful regards, Susan


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

