Posted by: springsinthedesert | May 24, 2010

The Favor Of God That Lasts A Lifetime

But the eyes of the LORD are on those who fear him, on those whose hope is in his unfailing love,  to deliver them from death and keep them alive in famine.

           Psalms 33:18-19

This Sunday, the psalm that we studied at church was Psalm 126. Quoting the last couple of verses, Pastor mentioned a sentence which touched my heart…”Church, best is yet to come…Today, it might be a day of crying, a day of trouble and worries…but the best is yet to come…a day of rejoicing is awaiting us”. What a blessed hope…I felt that I can live with that word alone for the rest of the week.

While I was thinking about today’s devotion, I came across another Psalm which had the similar verse..Psalm 30:5 which says,

       For his anger lasts only a moment,
       but his favor lasts a lifetime;
       weeping may remain for a night,
       but rejoicing comes in the morning.

Reading the whole Psalm, I started thinking about God’s favor.  Bible says that His favor lasts a lifetime…not a day or a month but a life time…It is this favor that helps us turn our weeping nights into rejoicing days…It is His favor that turns our hearts from mourning to dancing. This favor alone can change our sackcloth to the cloth of gladness. But how often do we take this favor granted?

Just like the Psalmist, we take it so granted and we say, “I stand firm and will never be shaken…no matter what”(verse 6, 7). If at all, our faith is firm like a strong mountain, it is because of His favor towards us. Have you ever wondered what happens when He hides His face from us for a moment? David says that he was dismayed and troubled when God hid His face from him. It is like falling down into a pit..a place of dust…to a complete hopeless situation..But I’m so glad that our God is a merciful and loving God…who does not keep the accounts of our wrongdoings…I’m happy that He hides His face not too long…and that it only lasts a moment….

There are days in my life when I have felt helpless, as if my soul is mourning. I have been in dust and ashes…with a heavy heart…only because I could not see God’s face. There in that sackcloth, I had wondered about all those days that I have taken His favor granted in my life.

Psalms 34:5 says that “Those who look to him are radiant; their faces are never covered with shame.” I had longed for that radiance on my face reflected from His glory…a light and singing heart..always rejoicing. One thing that touched me is that God’s anger towards His children is only for a moment if we are willing to ask God’s help and cry out to Him in supplications. He is ready to forgive us and show His favor to us…at that exact moment when we cry out to Him for help..(Psalm 30 8-12)

Today, are you in that mountain of God’s favor or are you in that hopeless pit of God’s anger? If you are in that mountain…I would encourage you not to take granted that place in Him…because its just His favor that has brought you hitherto. And do not be discouraged if you have fallen into that pit of weeping and mourning. God’s anger is only for a moment if you take the effort to understand your current place and ask God for His help. Take heart my child…best is yet to come…a day of rejoicing, a feet of dancing, a heart of gladness and a mouth of singing…And above all a favor from God that lasts a life time.

God Bless,

Rani John

Responses

  1. Thank you Rani, for showing us about God’s favor and how to get back to it if we aren’t there! Those moments of anger keep us ever turning to Him! :) God bless you! deb

    • Thank you Deb….I would not have been here if His anger lasted one more moment…I’m glad that He is a lovong God.
      God Bless,
      Rani

  2. Rani,
    Great message, that His favor lasts a lifetime is such an encouragement. Like a parent who gets upset at a disobedient child and is angry for a short time, but quickly remembers the lifetime of unconditional love, That is how God is with us. Thank you for pointing this out. Blessings
    Jim

    • Jim,

      I was thinking about that parent..child relationship when I wrote it…God has fashioned families with the same love He has towards us..

      God Bless,
      Rani

  3. Thanks for the devotion. It was a blessing for me.

    • Thank you for reading…Do remember us in your prayers..

      God Bless,
      Rani

  4. Rani, Yes, His favor is for a lifetime, and our life with Him is eternal, so His favor is forever. What a wonderful thought! It is good to be reminded that His anger last but a moment. Peace, Linda

    • Thank you Linda…I’m happy that His favor lasts a lifetime…because if His anger lasts one more minute…I would not have been here..
      God Bless,
      Rani


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 152 other followers

