Posted by: springsinthedesert | April 9, 2010

Trade Your Ashes For His Beauty

and provide for those who grieve in Zion— to bestow on them a crown of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, and a garment of praise  instead of a spirit of despair.  They will be called oaks of righteousness,  a planting of the LORD  for the display of his splendor.

           Isaiah 61:3

I have listened to Joyce Meyer preach about ‘beauty for ashes’ many times. Whenever she talked about how God can change our negative life to something beautiful for God, I used to nod and agree with her. But I have never understood the depth of it until I myself went through something bad and God turned it to something great.

Today, while praying, God showed me one of my desperate moments in life which He turned to something great and very rewarding. If He was not in control of my life, I would not have come this far. Thinking of it now, I can only say one thing; He took my ashes and gave me His crown of beauty instead. I would have been mourning the rest of my life…but He gave me the oil of gladness instead. I was so desperate and could not see God’s hand in my troubles, but He exchanged my despair with His garment of praise..Now I cannot stop singing praises to Him who has turned my life so beautiful. Now  you might ask, is it really possible to give my ashes and receive His beauty?

Bible talks about many people who were greatly used by God..They were not highly educated, well spoken, talented or rich people. They were just ordinary men and women who when touched by God, who could give their limitations and shortcomings to Him and give Him the full control so that they could be used mightily for God’s purposes.Let us look at some of them.

Abraham, at his old age decided to submit the impossibilities in his body to God and as a result, not only received a promised child , but was called the Father of faith. Noah, not being a shipbuilder by profession, when submitted to the voice of God, could make a mighty ark using the techniques of heaven and save his family and all the animals and birds of this earth. Joseph, though hated by his brothers and were almost killed by them, survived all the catastrophes of life and became the Emperor of Egypt. Ruth, having lost her husband , when decided to take the extra step to take care of her mother in law, was led to her nearest redeemer, the most loving Boaz.

Esther, being an orphan was raised to the position of the Queen and could save her people from a great disaster. Peter, just a fisherman, even after denying Jesus for three times, was mightily used by God in the early church as a powerful apostle. Saul, who once persecuted the church without any mercy, when called by God, submitted His life to Jesus and was turned into an amazing apostle and great teacher named Paul. Like that the list goes on…

Next is your story, mine too. Please do not look at your current life or situation and say that “I don’t think that anything good can come from this”. IF God could change all the above people and their negative situations in life, then surely He can do the same with us.

That sickness you are going through is not to destroy you completely…it is to build you up and to make you a useful vessel for many. God can take that broken marriage of yours and make it to something beautiful like a river always overflowing with peace and joy, so that anyone who comes to you with a similar problem, will be satisfied. That barrenness of yours is not to make you feel empty and unworthy all the days of your life, but to make you whole and fulfilled when you give birth to God’s purpose.Just like a candle , though used up by the fire completely, brings light to many in darkness, you and me are going to be a blessing to many.

All that we have to do,  is to give it all…Let it be ashes, let it be despair, or mourning..Give it all to our Master and receive from Him, His beauty, oil of gladness and garment of praise. Then we will be called the oaks of righteousness and we will be planted to display His splendor. Rise up and start trading your ashes for His beauty.

God Bless,

Rani John

Responses

  1. Amen Rani,

    I have traded my ashes…many times over and I have BEAUTY to show for it. And yes..I am trading my ashes today…because He is about to bring BEAUTY MY WAY like I never knew it before. Preach it my sister. Many will hear and sing a hymn of praise of OUR GOD!

    I am blessed today!

    Gladwell

    • Oh..its worth trading Gladwell…For our brokenness..His restoration, for our shame…His joy, for our Sickness…His healing…

      Who else can satisfy us this well? Let us all be His oak of righteousness, planted to display his Splendor..
      Blessings,
      Rani

  2. ” Please do not look at your current life or situation and say that “I don’t think that anything good can come from this”. IF God could change all the above people and their negative situations in life, then surely He can do the same with us.”

    Amen! Thank you for this. :) Have a great day Rani!

    Eden

    • Thank you Eden…He has exchanged His beauty for my ashes in the past…and still does that for me….I’m happy to serve Him till the end of my life.

      God Bless,
      Rani

  3. This is so beautiful and I am touched by it. Jesus is such an awesome God! He brings the dead to life, ashes to beauty,Hes amazing!
    Prayers and hugs
    Desiree

    • Desiree,

      Thank you so much…He is worthy to be praised and adored…He turned my ashes to His beauty…what else can I offer Him other than love Him more…

      Blessings,
      Rani

  4. One of my favorite parts of Joseph’s story is when he tells his brothers “What you meant for evil God has used for good.” The trials in our lives are meant by Satan for evil, but God uses them for His greater good. He has turned the ashes in my past to beauty, and will do the same with the ashes and despair of my present. Peace, Linda

    • Linda,

      He changes the evil plans Satan has plotted against us, and turns it for our own good….What a wonderful God we serve..

      God Bless you and yours,
      Rani

  5. Amen and Amen ….

    thanks Rani

    • Thank you Smitha…Jesus is just wonderful…the more I know Him, the more I’m falling in love with Him..
      God Bless,
      Rani

  6. What hope you have shared with us today . . .His Hope! :) God bless you! Deb

    • Thank you Deb…All the glory belongs to Him..

      Blessings,
      Rani

  7. Rani,
    great message, I fully believe in this 100%. I believe that if we are not broken yet, we need to be. Giving what we have to him, turning it over, then waiting patiently while he builds us into a new thing. I know I have had to be broken many times before I swept up the ashes and handed them over. God Bless you sister!
    Jim

    • Thank you Jim….Yes we need to be broken to be used by God…just like a clay in the potter’s hand…

      He can work in our lives only if we are willing to surrender it to Him.

      God Bless,
      Rani

  8. ‘tohu’ ‘bohu’ Gen. 1:2

  9. God’s ways are so wonderful & amazing!!!!!!,Keep up the good work Rani,,God bless,Mini.

    • Thank you for your encouraging words…Yes HE is amazing….and the portion of my life. Life is worth the living because HE is there.
      God Bless you and yours,
      Rani

  10. AMEN , Rani! A blessed Word straight from the heart and Spirit of God .
    God Bless U!

  11. God bless you, for this message


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 152 other followers

