Posted by: springsinthedesert | February 26, 2010

Find Your Strength In God Alone

Do not put your trust in princes, in mortal men, who cannot save. When their spirit departs, they return to the ground; on that very day their plans come to nothing.  Blessed is he whose help is the God of Jacob, whose hope is in the LORD his God, the Maker of heaven and earth, the sea, and everything in them— the LORD, who remains faithful forever.

            Psalms 146:3-6

In this fast-moving world, everything we need is just within a hand’s reach or just a click away. IF you feel like talking to a close friend, it just takes few seconds to dial that person even if she is on the other side of the world and it does not drain our valets, like how it was few years back. It’s certain that the advancement in the technology has made life easier. If you feel discouraged, you just type it on the google, and you get a number of sites which will provide the encouragement you need just the way you want it..Life has definitely changed a lot. But sometimes, I wonder whether all these facilities that we enjoy in this world, distract us from approaching God. Because what I have noticed is that, when we face a problem, we tend to run to the phone than bend our knees to pray. I dont mean to say that we do not need all these technology that we enjoy, but my question is that, do we depend on them more than we depend on God? 

 Today, while I was reading my Bible, I came across the 30th chapter of Isaiah. The first two verses of that chapter spoke to me. It reads as follows, ““Woe to the rebellious children,” says the LORD, “Who take counsel, but not of Me, And who devise plans, but not of My Spirit, That they may add sin to sin; Who walk to go down to Egypt, And have not asked My advice, To strengthen themselves in the strength of Pharaoh, And to trust in the shadow of Egypt! “ When the people of Israel was attacked by Assyria, they put their trust in Egypt and took the counsel of the Pharoah, instead of trusting God. The words, Pharoah and Egypt in biblical terms mean ‘the world’. From the above verse, we understand that God hates when we take the counsel of the world and trust in them , more than the Maker of this heaven and the earth.

In the next chapter we read why the Israelites trust in the Egyptians..They trust the chariots because they are many and the horses because they are strong.(Isaiah 31:1). But God himself gives the answer for that..He says that the army they trust are mere men and not God..the strong horses they trust is nothing but flesh and not spirit. God says that our strength is in the quietness and confidence in the Lord.

Today, let us examine our confidence and trust? Are we depending on this world more than God? Are we finding the strength we need in the power of the Pharoah and finding the protection under the shadow of Egypt? God wanted to strengthen the people of Israel..to trust God more, to have more faith. But many times they missed God’s purposes and leaned on their own understanding. How is our walk with God? When we face trials and challenges in life, we too tend to drift from God. We lean more towards our own logics and understanding and put our trust in princes and chariots around us.

But do you think it is possible to trust in God alone? Bible gives us an example. We read in 1 Samuel 30:6, “But David strengthened himself in the Lord his God”. If you look at the life of David, you can see that he was a person who faced almost all the troubles of this world. He was persuaded by King Saul and was escaped from many assassination attempts. He had to spend many years in hiding. He had to face many troubles from his children..like that it goes on..Yet he was a man after God’s own heart. How could he do that? He found his strength in his Lord.

God alone can give you the strength to face the trials of life. Your best friend cannot always give you the courage you need..Your spouse lying next to you many not always understand your tears, your parents may not realise what you go through…only God understands our life in and out..He alone can give you the strength to face tomorrow. So instead of running to everyone else and everything around us, let us run to our God for our strength. Here are some of the ways to receive strength from the Lord.

Wait on the Lord
 
   But those who wait on the LORD Shall renew their strength (Isaiah 40:31)

Be of good courage

    Wait on the LORD; Be of good courage, And He shall strengthen your heart (Psalms 68:35)

Cry unto the Lord

    In the day when I cried out, You answered me, And made me bold with strength in my soul.(Psalms 138:3)

Turn away from iniquities

   For my life is spent with grief,And my years with sighing ,My strength fails because of my iniquity, And my bones waste away.  (Psalms 31:10)

Meditate the Word of God

   Strengthen Me, According to thy Word. (Psalms 119:28)

Let what David said of himself be true of us as well…”My soul follows close behind You; Your right hand upholds me.” (Psalms 63:8)

God Bless,

Rani John

Responses

  1. Beautiful! My heart is lifted. God most certainly can be trusted. And that ‘trust’ is called ‘faith’

    Again, beautiful.

    Carolyn

  2. Thank you, Rani. I WILL WAIT FOR HIM…in quiet confidence! I needed to hear this today.

    Blessings to you and your household and have a great weekend.

    Gladwell

  3. Thank you again for the encouragement. I am learning to trust and wait on Him! I have finally realized that trusting in Him and faith is not about my emotions but the act of my will and comes from the reading of the word!

  4. Amen to that, I think I needed to read this today ..Praise the Lord of Host, Jehovah Jireh….MY provider.

    God bless
    with love and prayer

  5. Thank you all for your kind comments…I thank God who gives us the manna that we need, everyday of our lives…

    Love
    Rani John

  6. thankyou so much for encouraging me by making me realise the fact

  7. Thank you for this article, it certainly lifted my heart. I shall meditate on this and be of good courage.

    God bless.

  8. Thank you for this article. My heart is troubled within me. The stresses, burdens and anxieties of every day life just feel too much for me. I am taking time off from work now to go to the prayer mountain not far from my home to pray and meditate on these verses you have shared. Thank you once again


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

