Posted by: springsinthedesert | February 11, 2010

Wait For God’s Promises…It Will Be Yours In Its Due Time

As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater, so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.

             Isaiah 55:10-11

I was asking God to give me a verse from the Bible which will re-affirm the promises He has given me and at the same time help me write today’s devotion. And I’m so happy that He did give me this. I believe that there is no other verse more appropriate than the above key verse. It was snowing the whole day yesterday and looking outside through my window, I can see everything in white, covered under almost 10 inches of snow. When I was reading the  above verse, I remembered a question my daughter asked few months back. She asked me once..”Mamma, where does the snow come from and where does it go?” Though it was really difficult to make my four-year old understand the concept, it made me think from her perspective.

Bible compares the word of God that goes out of His mouth to something that which we can relate to…the rain and the snow. We have all learned the cycle of water during our school days. Even though the cycle continues, each rain drop falls into this earth with a purpose. We may not see what it does in this earth. All that we see is the tangible and visible results of its efforts. It waters the earth and brings forth buds, flowers, fruits, grains, vegetables and all the green that we see around. That one tiny drop of rain/snow that falls on the ground has its part in making this earth so beautiful. There is a tree in front of my house and in winter all I see is a tree without any leaves. Looking at that tree, my daughter commented today that it must be freezing in the snow. Kids and their imaginations!!! But when it is spring, I see that tree, totally different…first I see tiny buds, then bright yellowish-green small leaves and then a good shady tree, full of dark, thick green leaves. What happened in between? Are we able to see the process that happened within winter and spring?

God reminded me that the words that He has spoken to you and me are like that. You might have received the promises from God while you were dry and thirsty and in need. It is just the way this earth has received a rain drop while it was dry. Now you are in that period of waiting…waiting to see your promise fulfilled. You are waiting to see that tiny bud. But remember, there is a process behind it. You may not see and understand everything that is happening around you. But in its due time, the bud will spring forth and will be a shady tree. It will produce its fruit in its appointed time.

Another thing that the Holy Spirit revealed to me from this verse is that each person has his own waiting time. You time is not my time. Though we may be together in this waiting period, you might see your promise fulfilled earlier than mine. But that does not mean that my time will not come. For a sower, the purpose of the rain is fulfilled when he sees the seed for the next crop. But an eater will not see the end result of his waiting at that time. For him , he has to wait till the sower seeds the wheat, the crop is harvested, threshed and grinded to produce the bread that he was hoping to see.

In the old testament , we read that God showed Joseph visions about him becoming the ruler over his brothers. Did that happen in a day’s time? Between the visions and the actual fulfillment of the promise, lots of things had to happen according to God’s plan. Joseph falling into the pit did not prevent the promise from fulfilling. While he was at Potiphar’s house and in the Pharoah’s jail, God was training him for the promise. If you ask Joseph, he will say…”Yeah, all things did work together for me to finally receive the promise”.

When Jesus first saw Peter, He promised to make him a fisherman of men. He may not have even understood what Jesus meant by that statement at that time. Did Peter start his work of evangelism, from next day morning. No. There were lots of days in which Peter had to follow Jesus, see the miracles He did, understand the love of Jesus and work on his faith, towards Jesus. During that time period, there were even times when he doubted Jesus and also occasions where he denied him. But that did not mean that Peter, because of his ups and downs in spiritual life, were not given the promise for which he was called for. Do not forget that Peter did turn out to be the greatest leader in christian faith.

Dear child of God, are you with a promise today, regarding your life, your future, your family and your ministry. You just saw it fall down from heaven, but you do not see anything happening yet. God wants to remind you that His words will not return to him empty, it will accomplish the purpose for which it was sent. You might not see it right now. Its working out its purpose…first of all, God is training you, preparing others, changing your environment, creating new opportunities, changing the laws of the country…you never know what God has in mind. If God has promised you a ministry so that you will be a channel to bring forth salvation to the ends of the earth, He will do so. Every encouraging letter you write, every exhortation you say, every devotion you post, every message you speak will not go in vain. You might not see the people you are influencing or the changes you are making in their lives through Jesus Christ, but it will perform its purpose and one day you will see many saved across the world, through you. Let me encourage you with this verse from the bible “For the revelation awaits an appointed time;  it speaks of the end and will not prove false. Though it linger, wait for it; it will certainly come and will not delay. ” (Habakkuk 2:3)

In Him,
Rani John

Responses

  1. Hi Rani. My eyes are wet with tears as I read this. Yes, I know all that you have said is true. But God spoke to me while on the way to pick my daughter from pre-school. BELIEVE ME WITH YOUR HEART and not your head. That shook me up, because of late, things are so tight in my family life…so many decisions to be made and yet we can’t quite see how things will work out in the end. And God is saying…the vision is for an appointed time! I sigh with relief and trust God…one more time.

    Blessings,

    Gladwell

  2. Gladwell,

    I’m so happy that we share a special relationship through Christ. God often says the same to me…”Believe me with your heart”..and not with your own logics and reasonings…

    God Bless,
    Rani John

  3. Thank you so much for this! I have been going through such a journey for around two years now and needed this reminder tonight. In Him,

  4. Hi Rani,

    Really an encouraging one.

    It is truly a good reminder for me.

    Cheers
    Joyce

    • Joyce,

      Thank you for visiting this blog…Hope this will be a blessing in your life…

      Blessings,
      Rani

  5. i was seeking wisdom to stay in faith regarding the promise God has given me. I simply googled and came to your page. Thank you for sharing.

  6. Well I have just been today crying out to God to please tell me when I will be where I’m going. Right now it’s as if I’m in a pitch black dark room and I am groping for the door. I can’t find it but I know it exist! God has promised me in His word a hope for the future. So I wait but it us Dark and I don’t know when or where or how. I truely do believe God has a plan, but right now I am weak and somewhat weary. I have never liked suspense. I always like for a person to get to the point. I know I can be impatient. I am at the point of asking God “is there something I’m doing wrong, or is there some sin I haven’t recognized and need to repent?”. Is it me doing something wrong? But your words have encouraged me to hold on, and keep on hoping in the Lord. Thank you I also cried while reading them. God Bless You!

  7. I´m waiting for my season over 10 years already….perseverant and faithful believing The One who spoke these words is The One who never changes and never fails. Leaning on the One who created me called me , rescued me, anointed me….and will established me. Thank for this encouragement. God bless you abundantly!

  8. THE LORD IS FAITHFUL!!

  9. many blessings

  10. Please pray that my lover Hema should come back to me and we both should serve the Lord.We are seperated for more than one year.dear sister Rani,please pray.I’m worrying every minute.

  11. I googled how to wait on Gods promises and found your writing, the way you explained it gives me much hope and I understood everything like you were talking to me an old friend. God Bless you Rani I’m so glad I found your site!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

