Posted by: springsinthedesert | November 3, 2009

You Are The Potter, I Am The Clay

“Like clay in the hand of the potter, so are you in my hand, O house of Israel.”

             Jeremiah 18:6

Yesterday, as I was driving back home after picking up my daughter from school, I was asking God about the next day’s devotion and Holy Spirit mentioned within me “Potter and the clay”. I knew that there are many verses in the Bible that talked about this example. When I started meditating on the word, God revealed to me many details about the same.

potter-blackAs we all understand, our creator is the potter and we are the clay. In Isaiah 45:9  we read “Does the clay say to the potter, what are you making?”. The purpose and the plan of the clay is in the potter’s mind. And when we submit ourselves completely to His will, He will mold us to the best vessel as He pleases. But most often, we, the clay are reluctant to submit ourselves to the Master’s hand. We say that we do surrender all to Him, but there are areas where we think we know the best. God cannot work in our lives when He sees a free will in our lives. Today I would like to mention those clays that cannot be used by the potter.

A potter cannot use a clay that is very dry. This type of clay was once very moist and pliable. When a clay is exposed to air, it loses its moisture and becomes very hard. It tends to break in the potter’s hand. A potter can use it only after breaking it apart and start the kneading process again on it. Are you that kind of a clay? Years back you accepted Jesus as your personal savior and was leading a holy life, guided by the Holy Spirit, but as time went on, you lost the moisture as you were exposed to the world more and eventually became very dry. God cannot use such a clay for His purpose. He needs to break it down, moist it, knead it and mold it again to make it pliable in His hand. And that is a painful process. If you look at a potter’s place, you can see his clay well kept in plastic covers to protect it from air and placed in moist places. A child of God is always encouraged to protect himself from the outside world and sin which can take away the moisture from him.

The second type of clay that cannot be used by the potter is the clay that is not enough moist. A potter expects a certain amount of moisture in a clay. A clay that lacks moisture cannot be molded to different shapes as the potter thinks. This type of people, know Jesus as their saviour, they go to church, they worship God, they do everything for God. But when it comes to surrendering themselves to the will of God, they refuse or neglect. They will not soften themselves to be molded. They will not allow Holy spirit to work in their lives. Such people will always be satisfied with the stage they are in right now. Even though they know for sure that they lack moisture, they are not ready to long more for Holy Spirit and yield to His convictions.

The third type of clay that is not usable is the ones that have air bubbles and hard spots in them. Such clay is not dry, they are well moist, but they have air bubbles and hard spots which is not visible from outside. It works just fine to the potter and beautifully molds into the perfect vessel. But when it is placed in the kiln to fire up the clay, these hidden air bubbles expands and breaks the vessel. Like that clay, if you and me has hidden sins and hard spots, we cannot be used for the purpose He has planned. When we are tested in the fire, everything hidden will be revealed and exposed.

Today, let us check our lives and see how we are in our potter’s hands. Are we too dry and in a state of backsliding? Or are we lacking moisture, not enough Holy Spirit and the word of God in our lives? Is there any hidden sins and tough spots which we are not willing to give up for God? God cannot use us if we are in any of these states. We do not have to struggle in our potter’s hands thinking that “What is he going to do with my life?”. We just have to trust and rest in His hands. It is better to be on the potter’s wheel so that His hands are constantly working on us, molding us to the perfect vessel.

Jeremiah 18: 3-4 reads ” So I went down to the potter’s house, and I saw him working at the wheel.But the pot he was shaping from the clay was marred in his hands; so the potter formed it into another pot, shaping it as seemed best to him“. 

I love the words “marred in his hands”. We do not know the reason for it. May be it is because the clay was too dry or it lacked the exact amount of moisture. Whatever be the cause, it was marred in his hands. When the potter saw that the clay was broken, he did not throw it out saying that it is useless. He took the same old clay, molded it and made a perfect vessel from it. So it is always better to be in his hands and at the potter’s wheel. Our creator knows the best.

Prayer

Lord, today help me understand my present condition. Help me see my negatives. Am I too dry, exposed to this world  and not fit to hold up the shape that you have planned for me? Do I lack even a drop of moisture? I want to have Holy Spirit more in my life. Is there any kind of hidden sins or tough areas which I am not ready to surrender to your will. Help me realise those hard spots.I want to be the perfect clay that is pliable and moldable in your hands. Make me a vessel that is pleasing in your eyes and usable in your Kingdom.

In Him,

Rani John

Responses

  1. Hi Rani,
    I am very happy to see your blog each day.Its well written & Holy Spirit guided.While reading I can feel His presence.May God bless you more.Take care & God bless,Mini.

  2. [...] Skydiving is an act of faith, much like confronting illness or death of a loved one, much like writing. To jump out of a plane is to actively confront your beliefs, to open your mind and heart to something new. This process of faith is like taking a stale heart with your own two hands, and like play-do, smooshing it together and remolding it with intention. Find out what you are made out of. If you find that you can’t mold yourself into what you want to be, you will find yourself in my position. Ihave been  recognizing trial by trial that I don’t have the control I desire. I am clay, in need of a Potter. [...]

  3. I m blessed by it. pls do send this regularly in my mail. God bless.

  4. [...] http://springsinthedesert.wordpress.com/2009/11/03/you-are-the-potter-i-am-the-clay/ [...]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

